Kristen's Awesome Oatmeal Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2006
I've tried quite a few oatmeal cookie recipes, this has been by far the best one...although I used only 1tsp. of cinnamon, as I don't like them to cinnamon-y,it was the perfect amount if you prefer just a hint of spice to your cookie. everyone loved them..including my kids who don't like anything that may sound as if it has something healthy in it...the 2nd time I made them I added in a package of milk chocolate chips and 2 cups of chopped walnuts. it didn't make them to dry and they still came out perfect. thanks for the recipe I'll use from now on. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2006
OK,OK, I"m not a baker, nor will I ever be..but this is a keeper and a great base recipie. The first time I used shortening...they were good, but the second time I used BUTTER and added dried cranberries and bittersweet chocolate chips, and they were simply OUT OF THIS WORLD!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2006
theses cookies are awesome, I've made them both with and without chocolate chips. (Of course I didn't add the cinnamon when adding chips) I used a mini ice cream scoop to drop cookies on sheets, then after 10 minutes of baking, I flattened the puffed cookies slightly with an "egg flipper", then baked for 3 more minutes this made them super chewy inside and crispy on the edges absoulutely DELICIOUS just like the bakery this way! Thanks very much for the recipe Kristen!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellycooks

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah Jo
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2011
Okay, so here's the thing. I wanted to use butter (I don't keep shortening on hand outside the Christmas season) but I didn't want to use a stick and a half so I used the servings adjuster thingie on this site and cut it back to twenty servings which made it one stick of butter (which is half a cup). I had to do a little monkey-ing around with a few of the ingredients to make them come out even, like I used one whole egg which meant I had to eliminate the water called for in this recipe. I also used a full teaspoon of vanilla and added a half cup or so of organic raisins. Even with my adjustments (or crazy changing to round amounts), this cookie baked up fabulous and didn't seem to be affected by my changes. That's a sign of a wonderful recipe--it dosen't fall flat when you change up the recipe a bit. The cookie was perfectly cinnamon-y and it was chewy with a slight crisp on the edges. I like my oatmeal cookies soft usually but I really liked the flavors of this. I'll make this recipe again, but I'll make sure to make a custom recipe so I remember the changes I made to suit 20 servings or using one stick of butter. NOTE: GREASE YOUR SHEETS. Trust me. Otherwise, you'll have a hard time getting these cookies off of the cookie sheets. Also, 350* for eleven and a half minutes was just right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2006
I did a double batch and it made more than 100 "two-bite"-sized cookies! Substituted butter for the shortening and added dried cranberries and mini-semi-sweet chocolate chips. I also halved the cinnamon as I was not sure how it's flavour would mix with new ingredients. Great texture and flavour. A bit too sweet...I used a whole bag of chocolate chips...next time I would cut this in half and cut the white sugar in half as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2006
This oatmeal cookie is the classic slightly crispy/mostly chewy cookie I remember from childhood. I made it EXACTLY as written and have the following observations. The recipe is simple enough my children are able to follow most of the instructions independently. I found the dough to be quite soft - a little wet, even; but the finished product was outstanding. I baked the cookies on ungreased parchment paper lined cookie sheets and had no problems with sticking or spreading. For the final batch I stirred in Orchard Trail Mix available at Wal-Mart, and the cookies maintained their shape and consistency despite the fairly large yogurt covered raisins and cashews in the mix. I would reduce the cinnamon to 1 tsp. in the future if I were planning to add raisins, nuts, or trail mix. This recipe has joined the gang posted on the back of my cabinet door and will be made often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Concord, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2006
I added dried cranberries and butterscotch chips to these for a great "autumn" cookie. I took some to work and they vanished in seconds! The batter spread just the right amount: not too round and cakey but not totally flat and delicate either. Take them out of the oven to cool on the cookie sheet before they really look "done" if you want them chewy instead of crispy (9-10 min). Also, this recipe makes a lot...I got over 3 dozen! This recipe will become a staple for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2007
This recipe is properly named. They are awesome. I like them with a dash of powdered ginger and the full amount of cinnamon. My sweetie likes them with chocolate chips but I think they're better without. It makes about 42 rounded-spoonful-sized cookies and they still disappear quickly! P.S. If you're trying to sell your home, cook a few batches during an open house, the aroma is amazing! - P.s. I used butter, not shortening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsJ2b

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2006
Love this recipe. Cookies turned out crispy on the outside and chewy in the middle. You have to make sure you don't spread them out as you spoon or they will be too thin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Illinois, USA
Living In: Dunlap, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2006
Never a better cookie I did ever eat! I added ! cup each of raisins, chocolate chips and coconut. They tasted like they came from a a ritzy bakery!Thanks so much for a cookie that my husband will eat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeanne A.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Blackfoot, Idaho, USA
Living In: Payson, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 197) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Oatmeal Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make sensational oatmeal peanut butter cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States