Kristen's Awesome Oatmeal Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2009
Really good and easy. I needed a quick cookie for a carry in and these were wonderful. I used 1 stick of unsalted butter instead of shortening and I had no problems. The first batch was flat, so I just doubled the scoop size and added 1 minute to the oven timer. I got thicker cookies that were not burnt or too gooey. Thanks for a great go to cookie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2009
THE BEST I HAVE EVER HAD!!! Thank you for this recipe. I too scaled down the cinnamon to 1 tsp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2009
Mmmmm... perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lantzville, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2009
I made these later at night so I made them into bars to save time and they still came out great. I used a little less cinnamon as I prefer oatmeal cookies not to be too "spicey". These cookies are great, they have a really nice to chew to them. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2008
Best oatmeal cookie ever! I tried making them with butter instead of shortening and they didn't come out good, shortening is definitely a key in this recipe. Crunchy on the outside, soft and chewy on the inside
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2008
Was o.k. but not what I was looking for. Mine tasted good but were thin and too crispy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Post Falls, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2008
This was good although I wouldn't use the shortening again. And I tried it with less sugar and it tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2008
AWESOME!!! I have been searching for an oatmeal cookie recipe, and this is it! I did take some of the other review ideas...used 3/4 cup of butter instead of shortening, added 1 1/2 cups Hershey's chocolate chips, an 8oz bag of cranberries and cut the cinnamon down to 1/2 tsp. I also baked them for about 10 mins then used a spatula to slightly pat them down, then continued to bake them for the remaining 3 mins. DO NOT over cook these! The tops of the cookies will look underdone but will continue to cook while cooling. These are the best oatmeal cookies I have ever made! Soft and chewy on the inside and crisp on the outside. Just the way we like them, but could never seem to get them. Thanks for the addition to the recipe book, this ones a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweetscudo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2008
These are fantastic! The only thing I changed was to use butter-flavored shortening instead of regular, because that's what I had, and I added a bag of cinnamon chips. I made 2 dozen BIG cookies, they're soft and chewy on the inside and crispy on the outside, YUM! A really great cookie. BTW, in response to one review, this is most definitely NOT the Quaker Oatmeal Cookie recipe, it's completely different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2008
ok.. I am sorry to have to do this, but this was not to our taste! I was a little worried when I saw that you only used 1c. of flour. All I can say is ACK! These cookies stuck to the pan, even with greasing, were flat and had very little taste.. I actually threw out the rest of the dough! Welp, I guess I should just stick with what I know
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kitchenWitch70

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Reno, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 199) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Oatmeal Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make sensational oatmeal peanut butter cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States