Krista's Sticky Honey Garlic Wings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
This recipe was AWESOME. We love getting wings when we go out so making them at home like this will save us a bunch. Halfway through the recipe I realized I was out of garlic, so I used some chopped onion and these still turned out really well. Also I didn't have cornstarch but used flour instead. I reduced the amount of water I used, I used 2 cups of water for the first bit and only 1/2 cup for the flour. I ended up using about 4 tbsps of flour and it worked out still. I was slightly worried that the sauce was still too runny when I poured it over the wings, but it reduces perfectly in the oven. I didn't use all the sauce but I wish I had, since they would have been even MORE saucy and delicious! I would recommend this recipe to anyone any everyone, it's SO EASY! Thank you for sharing this one with us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2011
delicious! will make over and over again! The only thing i changed was to thinken the sauce more and not add so much water. More concentrated more flavour! served them with a Parmesan dip!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
This was an easy and simple recipe. My hubby loved them but not a big hit with the kids. I also left out the extra water to be added at the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bailey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
DELICIOUS!!! My family and I absolutely love them, although I used dried ginger instead of fresh, as I didn't have any on hand....Yum!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicolette_15

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
This was a good starter recipe. I made half a batch as stated and modified the other half. The original recipe is quite sweet and my daughter loved it. For the other half I added a few dashes of habenero sauce and about a teaspoon of cumin and garlic powder. The end result was sweet and spicy! It was great. They tasted like BWW's Carribean Jerk wings. When adding the cornstarch I did not add an additional 3/4 cup of water. I thought it would be too runny so I just reserved it from the 2 1/2 cups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by slrod22

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Centro, California, USA
Living In: Hobbs, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
i tried this tonight and thaught it was very tasty, i made the recipe exactly as shown but with 12 wings, it was very runny, that was my only complaint, i will keep expriementing with this to see if im able to thicken it more, or maybe use it as a maranade
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jodi

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Olds, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
This was probably the best recipe for wings I have made to date! Everyone raved over it and then asked, "Is there more"? Sadly, there wasn't! Next time I am doubling the recipe - although it does make a huge amount of sauce. Maybe just double the amount of wings!Thanks, Krista for a delish recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
Sauce didn't thicken much and drowned the wings. This might be better if the water was decreased. A total of 3-1/4 cups of water seems excessive for this amount of chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kopcat

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minnetonka, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2010
These were delicious! My kids called them "Asian BBQ chicken". I reduced the water to 2 cups and 1/4 cup, respectively. It still made a lot of sauce but it worked out fine. I poured the sauce over the (previously-baked) wings and let them braise uncovered in a nonstick pan for 20 minutes at 400 degrees, turning them once. The wings were deliciously sticky and the meat was like velvet. Next time, I'm going to add a few tablespoons of sambal to make them more like asian-style buffalo wings. I will definitely make this recipe again - the wings came out restaurant-quality.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
GREAT recipe with a few tweaks. VERY sweet, if you love sweet stuff (like me) perfect! otherwise you may want to reduce amount of sugar by 1/4 cup. Not enough corn starch/too much water.. I had to add more cornstarch to make sauce thicker. Also, wayyyy to much sauce. You could easily 1/2 it (or double the wings.. I suggest this instead of halfing the sauce :) ) I also added some hot sauce to kick it up a notch.., a couple more cloves of garlic, and more ginger root.. just my personal preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 129) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Garlic and Parmesan Chicken Wings

See how to make garlicky, crispy chicken wings.

Garlic Ginger Chicken Wings

See how to make saucy oven-fried chicken wings.

Chicken with 20 Cloves of Garlic

See how to make baked chicken in a pungent garlic sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States