Krista's Sticky Honey Garlic Wings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2009
These wings are wonderful. Everyone in my house loved them. I made them as written except I only mixed about 4 tbsp. water with the cornstarch. I think 3/4 of a cup would be too much and the sauce would not thicken up nicely. I will definitely be making this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
191 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2009
This tastes very near a sweet-honey chicken ordered at a Chinese restaurant. Changes I made: I put about 1/3 cup of honey, rather than 5tbs. Probably should have added a bit more cornstarch to thicken, but the taste was spot on for what I was going for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
103 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nobody'sGirl
Reviewed: May 11, 2009
Okay, I admit it. I cheated. My picture isn't of wings. It isn't even chicken. It's pork tenderloin and it was delicious. I roasted the tenderloin for 20 minutes, then added some sauce, and cooked for 15 minutes longer. I say 'some' sauce because this recipe made a lot of it. Like a whole medium pot full - be aware of that if you are scaling down the meat portion, or using it for something different. Really tasty, sweet, garlic-y goodness. Very glad I made it. It's next incarnation will be in a stir fry. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
88 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nobody'sGirl

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2009
These wings are incredible! My husband was so impressed that I made these!!! Thank-you to who ever submitted the recipe, I'll definitely be making these again! One trick I used was to bake the wings on a rack and let the grease drip onto a pan covered in tinfoil beneath. Super-crispy and the honey-garlic sauce is oh-so yummy!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
This was a good starter recipe. I made half a batch as stated and modified the other half. The original recipe is quite sweet and my daughter loved it. For the other half I added a few dashes of habenero sauce and about a teaspoon of cumin and garlic powder. The end result was sweet and spicy! It was great. They tasted like BWW's Carribean Jerk wings. When adding the cornstarch I did not add an additional 3/4 cup of water. I thought it would be too runny so I just reserved it from the 2 1/2 cups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by slrod22

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Centro, California, USA
Living In: Hobbs, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2009
This Recipe is is best thing ever!!! My Man LOVED these wings..Making them again for tonight. But I didn't have half of the ingredents on hand so I made a very simple version..Used the Honey, Brown Sugar, Garlic(used some garlic powder and minced), and water as on recipe..After Cooking in oven put wings in crockpot on low for 1-2 hrs until hubby got home from work..Turned out even simply made this dish is fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AVIANBROOKE

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2011
I doubled these for a party and the guests liked them but I thought they were too sweet as written. Made these adjustments for sticky wing perfection: *I didn't fry the wings but dusted in seasoned flour and baked at 375 for 40 minuted. Wings perfectly cooked. *Before I added the sauce to the wings I gave a splash of rice wine vinegar and lime juice (to balance the sweet) and 1/4 cup of toasted sesame seeds. Boiled a little longer until thick... It tasted just like the sesame chicken at our favorite asian cafe here in town.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hmay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: New Braunfels, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2009
These were perfect!!! Thank you so much for such a delicious recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Port Coquitlam, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2009
I've made it twice now. I made the sauce the night before, and refrigerated...still worked. Added a few dashes of crushed red pepper the second time, we like a little heat
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2012
Fabulous, except . . . Cut the soya sauce in half, otherwise it's too Teriyaki-type falvoured. I made one set with no soya sauce and it was great as well, just a nice sweet honey garlic vs. tangy honey garlic with the soya sauce. Neither time, did I mix the extra 3/4 cup of water in with the cornstarch; I just used some of the hot sauce, as I felt there was enough water in this recipe and I wanted to max the flavour. Also, pouring the sauce over the wings wastes a lot of sauce. I dunk the wings in the sauce and then bake 10 minutes, redunk again with the rest of the sauce and finish baking. Then the wings are nice and saucy and the least amount of sauce is wasted on the pan. I put a layer of tinfoil down and spray it with Pam. Then they don't stick to the pan much, if at all. Definitely a keeper recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by windlecm

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 137) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Garlic and Parmesan Chicken Wings

See how to make garlicky, crispy chicken wings.

Garlic Ginger Chicken Wings

See how to make saucy oven-fried chicken wings.

Chicken with 20 Cloves of Garlic

See how to make baked chicken in a pungent garlic sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States