Kris' Lentil Sausage Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by JARRIE
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2010
This was very good. I used a can of Ro-tel in place of the crushed tomatoes. We added a little hot sauce at the table, but that's no reflection on the recipe. Nice and hearty, thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2010
I've made this twice -- the first time it came out very thick, but delicious. My US to metric conversion may have been off, so that could have been my fault. The second time I added extra tomato juice and it was more soup-like, and still delicious. I used sliced pork sausage instead of kielbasa because I couldn't find kielbasa in either of the tiny grocery stores near where I currently live in London. My flatmates demand it regularly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
My first lentil dish and five days later I bought another two cups to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2010
Husband and toddler approved! We absolutely loved this soup (I did add about 3 extra cups of water to make it more soupy, less stewy). I used a turkey kielbasa and the flavor was perfect. My daughter (21 months old) ate the lentils with gusto! Thanks for the great tasting and easy recipe! It will be added to the rotation for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
I really loved this, hubby really liked it, so it's a keeper for sure. (We did tinker with some extra spice to taste, but the base is fantastic.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shanagan

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2009
I was not crazy about this soup. I did feel it had good flavor but the tomatoe was what bothered me. I grew up eating lentil soup that had no tomatoe in the recipe, I wanted to try something new, this totally changed the flavor. I will try this recipe again, but without the tomatoe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2009
Fantastic basic recipe, but for us needed adjustments to be as awesome as it turned out. Did everything the recipe called for and added 1/4 ts each cayenne and liquid hickory smoke + 1/2 ts cumin + 1 ts each onion powder, corriander and apple cider vinegar. And a shake of worcestershire. Also, used the larger can (28 oz?) of organic fire roasted crushed tomatoes. We topped it with sour cream, parsley and tabasco and crunched up blue corn chips... SO GOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Starlet

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Maple Valley, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2009
Family loved the soup and so did my co-worker. Brought some to work since it made plenty. Easy to make and plentiful! ~L
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2009
The kids even would eat this soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springfield, Illinois, USA
Living In: Elmhurst, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2009
We all really enjoyed this! I soaked beans in water all day and then boiled per directions. Cooked in approx 45 mins that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Enterprise, Alabama, USA
Living In: Elba, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States