Kringla II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2008
After trying to decifer my mom's recipe for this, which was handed down by her mom and so on, I found this recipe which was almost exact, except I used buttermilk instead of heavy cream. Calling the dough sticky is the understatement of the century, there was no way I could roll it out and make shapes (perhaps because I used buttermilk?) SO, I came up with a GREAT idea to put it in a ziplock bag, cut the end and pipe the shapes onto the cookie sheets. They came out FABULOUS! And taste just like I remember from when I was a kid. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denville, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Glenwood, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2006
I have a similar recipe for the Norwegian "soft" Kringla cookies/cakes. Mine uses buttermilk though, but I think the sour cream is the key to fab flavor. Soft Kringla are amazing! I do mine in all sorts of shapes, but be careful to keep the same shape on each cookie sheet for even cooking. I do hoops, figure 8's, twists, 'S' shapes, and spirals (think snail shell). I've experimented with coating these in chocolate --- amazing! You can dip half a cookie, or use a thin-tip pastry bag and swirl on (think of following the spiral indent) or stripe on. Gotta use good quality bittersweet or semisweet chocolate though. Great recipe! Glad to see another soft-Norwegian Kringla recipe on the web.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2005
I wanted to try some Norwegian recipes for Christmas for my fiance's family who are Norwegian. They all loved this recipe. It is a little time consuming but turned our very good. The cookies are not too sweet and are great in the morning with coffee.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2009
This is a favorite treat of my in-laws...they usually order them online. I decided to go crazy and make this recipe and they were a HUGE hit. I was told these were every bit as authentic and delicious as they remembered from their childhood. The dough is SUPER STICKY. I followed the advice of someone else and used the plastic baggy/icing trick. It probably saved me hours and hours of unnecessary work. I also suggest keeping an eagle eye as they're baking. They quickly turn from undercooked to burnt on the bottom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda B.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2007
These are exactly what I was looking for! The recipe as written is just a bit sweet for my family's taste, so I cut the sugar down to about a cup. Otherwise, I didn't change a thing. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2010
If you chill the dough really well it makes rolling easier. It also doesn't hurt to use some flour when rolling. I grew up making these with my mom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Shawnee, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2008
My family is Norwegian and we always have kringlas at Thanksgiving, but I couldn't find my recipe so I used this one this year and it is wonderful! Tastes just like when my grandma would make them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
Not sure how you are supposed to roll this into a rope. The dough is way too sticky. So I followed the advice and piped the cookies onto a silpat lined cookie sheet. We were making these for a Norwegian heritage project for 5th grade so we did not bother with the figure eight. We just piped them into straight little sticks about 5 inches long. That way we could get more out of the recipe. These reminded me of the cake-like lady fingers. I thought they were about a 3 star, my son thinks they were a 4 1/2, but then he has more Norwegian blood than me. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRAZY4SUSHI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2010
OH krap.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KitchenKiki
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2006
My stepdaughter LOVES Kringla & convinced me to make it (I had never even heard of of it). After consulting my mother-in-law I tried this recipe to rave reviews from the girl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Make chocolate chip cookies without an electric mixer.

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Turn the flavors of soda bread into quick-and-easy cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States