Kringla II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2009
I had never heard of Kringla before. A friend of mine mentioned a few times how she loved it but hadn't had it in years. I decided to give this recipe a shot for a holiday gift - it was a HUGE hit! She said it tasted exactly as she remembered it from years ago. The recipe was easy to make and went over so well that I plan to make it again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2008
After trying to decifer my mom's recipe for this, which was handed down by her mom and so on, I found this recipe which was almost exact, except I used buttermilk instead of heavy cream. Calling the dough sticky is the understatement of the century, there was no way I could roll it out and make shapes (perhaps because I used buttermilk?) SO, I came up with a GREAT idea to put it in a ziplock bag, cut the end and pipe the shapes onto the cookie sheets. They came out FABULOUS! And taste just like I remember from when I was a kid. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denville, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Glenwood, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2008
My family is Norwegian and we always have kringlas at Thanksgiving, but I couldn't find my recipe so I used this one this year and it is wonderful! Tastes just like when my grandma would make them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2008
If you love Scandinavian cooking this is a great recipe. My husband who grew up with Swedish mother and grandmother loved this! It is not a quick recipe so you will need to have plenty of time to make these. I wouldn't make this often but maybe once a year for Christma for a treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rapid City, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Mantorville, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2007
simply delicious!! Soft and fluffy, a mild flavor but so addicting! At first I thought they were not sweet enough, but that's because I'm used to the "american" baking, which uses so much sugar. After having my third one though and letting my palette adjust to the flavor, I think they are perfect in sweetness. Be careful not to use too much flour when rolling out, just use enough to keep it from sticking to you or the surface. Wonderful as they are, if you want a twist on them perhaps try a little almond extract or lemon zest! The 2nd time I maede them I didn't use the egg yolk and hand mixed everything, turned out just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by roweena

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2007
These are exactly what I was looking for! The recipe as written is just a bit sweet for my family's taste, so I cut the sugar down to about a cup. Otherwise, I didn't change a thing. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2006
I have a similar recipe for the Norwegian "soft" Kringla cookies/cakes. Mine uses buttermilk though, but I think the sour cream is the key to fab flavor. Soft Kringla are amazing! I do mine in all sorts of shapes, but be careful to keep the same shape on each cookie sheet for even cooking. I do hoops, figure 8's, twists, 'S' shapes, and spirals (think snail shell). I've experimented with coating these in chocolate --- amazing! You can dip half a cookie, or use a thin-tip pastry bag and swirl on (think of following the spiral indent) or stripe on. Gotta use good quality bittersweet or semisweet chocolate though. Great recipe! Glad to see another soft-Norwegian Kringla recipe on the web.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KitchenKiki
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2006
My stepdaughter LOVES Kringla & convinced me to make it (I had never even heard of of it). After consulting my mother-in-law I tried this recipe to rave reviews from the girl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2005
I wanted to try some Norwegian recipes for Christmas for my fiance's family who are Norwegian. They all loved this recipe. It is a little time consuming but turned our very good. The cookies are not too sweet and are great in the morning with coffee.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-19 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Turn the flavors of soda bread into quick-and-easy cookies.

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Make chocolate chip cookies without an electric mixer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States