Kringla II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
These were so delicious! They were soft and fluffy, and they are perfect for people who don't generally like sweets because they are just the perfect amount of sweetness. I've never had Kringla before, but these turned out so well, I will definitely be making these again. I had never rolled dough before that was so sticky, so I learned that the trick was to use a VERY well floured surface.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2011
This recipe is the same as my grammas except that we use only one cup of sugar, no shortening and the whole egg. She would mix the baking soda into the sour cream before adding all of the ingredients together. To make the dough workable you must refrigerate it for at least two hours. This has been a family favorite for years!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2011
Kringla is a fall favorite during festival time around my area this time of year. This year we were not as happy with them as usual, so I decided to try my hand with this recipe. Turned out PERFECT! I made recipe with buttermilk instead of heavy cream, and piped cookies as well. Quick and easy, and piping them helps with cleanup! Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2010
If you chill the dough really well it makes rolling easier. It also doesn't hurt to use some flour when rolling. I grew up making these with my mom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Shawnee, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
I just made these cookies tonight, and they tasted very good. I wasn't expecting them to rise so much so I had a batch of monster cookies, though no real complain here. Very fluffy and light. Not too sweet, easy to eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2010
OH krap.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
Not sure how you are supposed to roll this into a rope. The dough is way too sticky. So I followed the advice and piped the cookies onto a silpat lined cookie sheet. We were making these for a Norwegian heritage project for 5th grade so we did not bother with the figure eight. We just piped them into straight little sticks about 5 inches long. That way we could get more out of the recipe. These reminded me of the cake-like lady fingers. I thought they were about a 3 star, my son thinks they were a 4 1/2, but then he has more Norwegian blood than me. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRAZY4SUSHI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2009
This is a favorite treat of my in-laws...they usually order them online. I decided to go crazy and make this recipe and they were a HUGE hit. I was told these were every bit as authentic and delicious as they remembered from their childhood. The dough is SUPER STICKY. I followed the advice of someone else and used the plastic baggy/icing trick. It probably saved me hours and hours of unnecessary work. I also suggest keeping an eagle eye as they're baking. They quickly turn from undercooked to burnt on the bottom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda B.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2009
Almost like my Norwegian grandmother's recipe. But she always added a tablespoon of anise seed! Learning to handle wet dough was like a rite of passage for me and my sister. We still make them at Christmas.Evaporated milk works well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TxVee

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2009
Similar in flavor to my great grandmother's recipe, but this was a lot fluffier, making it hard to hold the shape. Nonetheless, it was a nice change and the family loved it. To other reviewers, the dough is extremely sticky in all recipes. It's just how it is. That's why you only make it once a year :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by johnsonaj

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Make chocolate chip cookies without an electric mixer.

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Turn the flavors of soda bread into quick-and-easy cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States