Kringla II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2014
These are a favorite in my family. Three pieces of advice. Refrigerate the dough for at least 4 hours, overnight is better. Do not overtake. They should be very soft. The bottom should be a very light brown. And finally watch two or three YouTube videos before making these to see how the dough is rolled out. Other advice. I like to use a fabric covered pastry board. Rub a little flour into the pastry cloth to make rolling easier. On one of the YouTube videos, the woman appears to be rolling it on a dish towel and in another, Mikey is using a traditional Lefse board.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by linds
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2014
Loved it! I'm a newbie and these came out perfect my first try. My husband even helped with this. We quickly found that rolling the dough out in our floured hands worked best for us. Like what you did as kid with your play dough. We gave up on the figure 8's promptly because they looked awful. Instead, we rolled the dough out in snakes with our hands the length of our palms and then doing a swirl instead on the baking pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
These were so delicious! They were soft and fluffy, and they are perfect for people who don't generally like sweets because they are just the perfect amount of sweetness. I've never had Kringla before, but these turned out so well, I will definitely be making these again. I had never rolled dough before that was so sticky, so I learned that the trick was to use a VERY well floured surface.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2011
This recipe is the same as my grammas except that we use only one cup of sugar, no shortening and the whole egg. She would mix the baking soda into the sour cream before adding all of the ingredients together. To make the dough workable you must refrigerate it for at least two hours. This has been a family favorite for years!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2011
Kringla is a fall favorite during festival time around my area this time of year. This year we were not as happy with them as usual, so I decided to try my hand with this recipe. Turned out PERFECT! I made recipe with buttermilk instead of heavy cream, and piped cookies as well. Quick and easy, and piping them helps with cleanup! Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2010
If you chill the dough really well it makes rolling easier. It also doesn't hurt to use some flour when rolling. I grew up making these with my mom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Shawnee, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
I just made these cookies tonight, and they tasted very good. I wasn't expecting them to rise so much so I had a batch of monster cookies, though no real complain here. Very fluffy and light. Not too sweet, easy to eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2010
OH krap.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
Not sure how you are supposed to roll this into a rope. The dough is way too sticky. So I followed the advice and piped the cookies onto a silpat lined cookie sheet. We were making these for a Norwegian heritage project for 5th grade so we did not bother with the figure eight. We just piped them into straight little sticks about 5 inches long. That way we could get more out of the recipe. These reminded me of the cake-like lady fingers. I thought they were about a 3 star, my son thinks they were a 4 1/2, but then he has more Norwegian blood than me. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRAZY4SUSHI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2009
This is a favorite treat of my in-laws...they usually order them online. I decided to go crazy and make this recipe and they were a HUGE hit. I was told these were every bit as authentic and delicious as they remembered from their childhood. The dough is SUPER STICKY. I followed the advice of someone else and used the plastic baggy/icing trick. It probably saved me hours and hours of unnecessary work. I also suggest keeping an eagle eye as they're baking. They quickly turn from undercooked to burnt on the bottom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda B.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Turn the flavors of soda bread into quick-and-easy cookies.

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Make chocolate chip cookies without an electric mixer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States