Kreatopita Argostoli Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
Used what I had on hand as always and adapted this. Had one roasted lamb shank and a pound of ground lamb. Fried the ground with a chopped onion and some greek seasonings until the onions were cooked and the lamb cooked thru. added garlic powder a splash of beef broth, a 10 oz package of chopped spinach squeezed dry, S&P, 1 c feta crumbles (I had 1/2 4 0z a tomato basil flavor and 4 oz fat free plain) and then I added 1/2 c parm to make up the difference. I added the meat from the roasted shank. and 1 T chopped green olives. I cooked the rice (I only had white would have preferred brown) then added some greek seasoning and a tsp of olive oil to give it some flavor. Assembled as directed. Brushed the top with a beaten egg and baked at 400 I think for 35 minutes or until it is brown. Smells really good. Thanks for the starting place...Momofone
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2010
I made this dish pretty much as written and it was quite good. However, my family agreed that when I make it again, I would reduce the amount of rice to maybe three cups and increase the amount of meat. I can see also making this with beef. The seasoning combination was excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Cornville, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2010
This was delicious! It took a bit of time for prep...including cooking lamb and boiling eggs ahead of time. However, it was worth it. I kept thinking that the mix of ingredients was odd as I put it together, but they came together very nicely in the end. The only thing that I changed was the rice...I didn't have white rice, I only had brown. And I only had enough to make two cups. However, I felt that was the perfect amount in the end, and that 4 cups may have been a bit much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Altoona, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Hot Chilli
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2008
I really liked this but my Husband didn't. He thought there were too many textures going. I adore Greek food and thought the flavours were just wonderful. Used minced lamb and didn't add the beaten egg in the top layer because I ran out of eggs! Took a while to put together but the end result is worth it. Too bad I won't be allowed to make this again :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hot Chilli

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2008
My family loved this dish. I didnt use the phyllo dough just because I didnt have it and wanted to use what I had on hand. I also used the brown rice as one other person had suggested and the dish was wonderful. Oh and instead of using the beef broth I used the left over gravy from the lamb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2007
Delicious! I used ground lamb instead of cubed, and brown rice instead of white. The flavours were just right. A very satisfying dish worth the effort. Great with a fresh garden salad on the side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2005
This dish took forever to put together! Lots of steps and pre-cooking involved. The taste was good, but not that fantastic. We all liked the phyllo crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin Kueneman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA
Living In: Star, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2005
The taste was very flavorful. This was delicious. It does take a long while to put together but it is worth it. The next time I make it, I will prepare it the day before I am going to serve it and refridgerate it over night. This will make it easier. I know I will be serving this for our family gaathering at Easter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2004
My Greek neighbor got me hooked on this meal. So when I found this version, I made it and let HER try it. She was impressed. And so where my kids! The LOVE it. A little labor intensive, but worth the effort, the taste is out of this world!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2001
Really tasty stuff. Great for dinner and would go a long way as part of a buffet in littler (sic)squares
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Irish Shepherd’s Pie

See how to make an amazing shepherd’s pie with a special Irish twist.

Grecian Pork Tenderloin

See how to make a zesty, Greek-inspired marinade for grilled pork tenderloin.

Grilled Spicy Lamb Burgers

These may be the most flavorful grilled burgers ever.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States