Kreatopita Argostoli Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2001
Really tasty stuff. Great for dinner and would go a long way as part of a buffet in littler (sic)squares
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2004
My Greek neighbor got me hooked on this meal. So when I found this version, I made it and let HER try it. She was impressed. And so where my kids! The LOVE it. A little labor intensive, but worth the effort, the taste is out of this world!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2005
The taste was very flavorful. This was delicious. It does take a long while to put together but it is worth it. The next time I make it, I will prepare it the day before I am going to serve it and refridgerate it over night. This will make it easier. I know I will be serving this for our family gaathering at Easter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2005
This dish took forever to put together! Lots of steps and pre-cooking involved. The taste was good, but not that fantastic. We all liked the phyllo crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin Kueneman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA
Living In: Star, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2007
Delicious! I used ground lamb instead of cubed, and brown rice instead of white. The flavours were just right. A very satisfying dish worth the effort. Great with a fresh garden salad on the side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2008
My family loved this dish. I didnt use the phyllo dough just because I didnt have it and wanted to use what I had on hand. I also used the brown rice as one other person had suggested and the dish was wonderful. Oh and instead of using the beef broth I used the left over gravy from the lamb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Hot Chilli
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2008
I really liked this but my Husband didn't. He thought there were too many textures going. I adore Greek food and thought the flavours were just wonderful. Used minced lamb and didn't add the beaten egg in the top layer because I ran out of eggs! Took a while to put together but the end result is worth it. Too bad I won't be allowed to make this again :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hot Chilli

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2010
This was delicious! It took a bit of time for prep...including cooking lamb and boiling eggs ahead of time. However, it was worth it. I kept thinking that the mix of ingredients was odd as I put it together, but they came together very nicely in the end. The only thing that I changed was the rice...I didn't have white rice, I only had brown. And I only had enough to make two cups. However, I felt that was the perfect amount in the end, and that 4 cups may have been a bit much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Altoona, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2010
I made this dish pretty much as written and it was quite good. However, my family agreed that when I make it again, I would reduce the amount of rice to maybe three cups and increase the amount of meat. I can see also making this with beef. The seasoning combination was excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Cornville, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
Used what I had on hand as always and adapted this. Had one roasted lamb shank and a pound of ground lamb. Fried the ground with a chopped onion and some greek seasonings until the onions were cooked and the lamb cooked thru. added garlic powder a splash of beef broth, a 10 oz package of chopped spinach squeezed dry, S&P, 1 c feta crumbles (I had 1/2 4 0z a tomato basil flavor and 4 oz fat free plain) and then I added 1/2 c parm to make up the difference. I added the meat from the roasted shank. and 1 T chopped green olives. I cooked the rice (I only had white would have preferred brown) then added some greek seasoning and a tsp of olive oil to give it some flavor. Assembled as directed. Brushed the top with a beaten egg and baked at 400 I think for 35 minutes or until it is brown. Smells really good. Thanks for the starting place...Momofone
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Grecian Pork Tenderloin

See how to make a zesty, Greek-inspired marinade for grilled pork tenderloin.

Irish Shepherd’s Pie

See how to make an amazing shepherd’s pie with a special Irish twist.

Spinach Stuffed Chicken Breasts

Bacon-wrapped chicken breasts are stuffed with spinach and feta cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States