Krazy Kake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2000
This recipe is fantastic. My whole family loved it. It was rich, moist and so easy to make. It has become a new family favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2006
Really excellent. Moist and flavorful. Because others said it was bland, I added an extra 1/3 c. white sugar. The icing was not grainy at all. I suspect the reviewer that said so did not boil the icing long enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2007
This is a great recipe for anyone! For me it took a little longer to boil the frosting than it said on the recipe, but other than that it was a great cake to make and for a beginning baker this is a perfect recipe!! I was surprised that it tasted like cinnamon cake more than chocolate cake , but it was a pleasant . Great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2006
My mom handed down a very similar recipe to me. Some variations: instead of water, you can use cold coffee. Also, we make a cinnamon and sugar mixture and generously sprinkle it all over the top of the cake before baking. I usually sprinkle a little more immediately after I take the cake out of the oven. This topping will form a sweet, crunchy crusty layer on top. I have also found that the cake tastes better the second day when the topping has a chance to set. I make this for all potlucks and parties that I go to. It doesn't have the greatest presentation, but it is delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2000
This cake is so easy and really moist. If you didn't use the frosting it would also be low in fat. The frosting is also really good and smooth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2012
This is pretty good (if a little on the sweet side), though I made some moderate changes by replacing the cocoa powder with instant hot chocolate mix and instant cappuccino mix. Make sure you mix it well or else it will have floury bits in it. You might want to boil the glaze for a minute or two longer than stated to guarantee it isn't grainy. I needed to bake it for closer to 50 minutes to fully cook it as well. It really needs something like raisins inside or chopped nuts on top, though, for a little more texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2005
this cake was wonderful! It reminded me of store bought hostess cupcakes! Very yummy. The frosting is very runny, but once cooled slightly and applied to the cake it hardened and tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Evansville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2007
made this tonite. i like it as a very subtle base with the french buttercream frosting recipe on this site. i didn't have white vinegar, i used apple cider vinegar instead. i also made cupcakes with it, and had enough to make about 2 + 1/2 dozen. its a keeper. thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jeanius80

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2000
This cake has no flavor. I just made it, and the only good thing about it is the frosting. Perhaps I made it the wrong way, but it is very bland. Maybe use milk or cream instead of water?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOLLE888

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2005
I was out of eggs, so I gave this cake a shot, and was really disappointed. I followed the recipe exactly, and the frosting was grainy, the cake sticky and bland. I gave it two stars because with a creamy frosting and some milk, I think it would be a decent quick-and-easy dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by adi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lisbon, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Bethany, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Honey Maid Cheesecake

This delicious, slightly decadent cheesecake is a snap to make.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States