Krautburger Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2010
Wow, what a great recipe for my husband and I! I was worried about the quantity, so I used only one loaf of frozen bread, 1/2 of an onion and a little more than a quarter of the head of cabbage. I had some of the meat mixture left over, but the number of burgers we ended up with was a great for dinner and a few for leftovers. I will do an egg wash next time to get that crusty golden brown bun. I will be making this recipe for my parents who grew up on traditional german food - we'll see how they like it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KK

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Osceola, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2010
the meat filling was really yummy...but that dough was like wrestling a gorilla!! I used to be a pastry chef, and Ive never struggled with dough so much in my life! Net time, ill make my own dough. The rest of the recipe was great though!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amber7579

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Littleton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2010
Delicious!!!! Followed recipe to a tee...dipped in hot mustard. Will make again. Thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by K.K.B.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
I have made these for years and the kids love 'em! To make things easier, I use a can of mild Saurkraut and mix in with the hamburger using a tsp of garlic and onion powder and salt and pepper to taste. Dip in spicy mustard and Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2010
These were pretty good! I made pretty much the same as the recipe except I added a bit of garlic power and worchestershire sauce. I made my own bread dough and it was delish! The only thing was I forgot to add the cheese! I didn't even remember until after I ate them lol, but they were still great. A nice OAMC recipe. Will make again, except I'll remember the cheese next time ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kent, Ohio, USA
Living In: Akron, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
My aunt who passed away at 28 made these for me as a child. I thought of them one day and looked up this recipe. Making these brought back memories. They were sooo good. Don;t think Id change anything about the recipe. We followed it perfectly. They did not turn out exactly like the picture but very good. My husband ate like 4 big ones of these and then asked me to teach him how to make them the next day, which we did we made a whole other batch the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crusie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
Needs more spices. And what a friggin hassle for such a mundane flavor! I expected to fall in love with these things and waited for them to melt in my mouth---neither of which happened : ( Not to mention, after rolling my little fingers out, they looked a hot mess! I was embarrassed to even serve them. So, I didn't.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Holland, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2009
Delish - added a little bit of garlic powder and made the dough as thin as I could. Served with spicy mustard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baldwinsville, New York, USA
Living In: Port Saint Lucie, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2009
better than i thought they were! these turned out amazing. i followed the recipe exactly and they turned out great. next time though, i will use 3 lbs of bread dough to make bigger sandwiches, and up the beef to 1 1/2 lbs for more meat filling. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bjohnsfrommtown

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2009
These are great. My mom used to make these when I was younger, but instead of cabbage she would fry some mushrooms with the ground beef. Add the cheese and you have a mushroom cheese burger! Really brought me back. Great for a quick lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spruce Grove, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Lacombe, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Cook Corned Beef and Cabbage

Watch how to make this traditional St. Patrick’s Day dish.

Beef Short Ribs Sauerbraten

See how to make tender beef short ribs, German-style.

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States