Kraut Bierocks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2002
Oh, my goodness. My girlfriend and I have been making these for over 34 years together in batches of 100-120 at a time. They freeze great. Just BEWARE: Everyone wants the recipe and they will steal them if the get the chance. Thanks, Kim, first time I've "seen" the recipe. We made ours off scribbled notes of a German grandmother. Easier way to do the dough is to use a bread machine recipe for dinner rolls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2003
Very Good. I split the recipe in half and made half with sauerkraut and half with cabbage. Both were good. I recommend increasing the amount of shredded cabbage though because it wilts down a lot. I did cut the amount of salt by half and the pepper by half. Velveeta is hard to shred so I cubed it and it melted in nicely. I used turkey Italian sausage and ground sirloin. The stuffing was moist without being greasy. It makes a lot so I froze some and I'm looking forward to eating it again soon. For those who haven't made bread, the shortening should be melted, cooled to lukewarm, and added to the yeast and water mixture before the flour. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2002
We first tasted BIEROCKs in Kansas two years ago. At the airport I purchased a Kansas Cookbook just to get the recipe; I haven't found it anyplace else. The book states the recipe was brought to Kansas by the Volga Germans who emigrated from Russia. And are we ever glad they did. I freeze these in foil so our older sons can just grab a few and microwave and eat "on the run." Marian E.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2008
I have been making these for 50 years, my old Ukraine/German Grandmother used to make them. but back in the day when pennies were tight. we only had the ground beef, cabbage, onions salt and pepper. and bread dough. We use an 18 qt Nesco to cook it all down until all the cabbage is wilted down and onions soft. and beef done. drain off and cool. Then roll out the bread dough, cut a square fold them in and bake.. Kids and grandkids called them "grubby ducks" we laugh still at the german/english kids pronounciation of it. as most German cusine dishes, It is excellent fare. freeze well, and reheat in microwave.....Used to take in lunch all the time.. Brings back many memories of dearly missed Gramma and Mom....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COUNTRYRAY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2001
I really like this recipe. I didn't have dry milk on hand so I used about 1/4 cup of 1% milk, and added more flour. I was worried about how the dough would turn out because I had to add quite a lot more flour due to stickiness, BUT ... it turned out great. I will make this again, many times. Angela
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2003
I too used Rhodes rolls to save time. This is an excellent recipe. I have also filled them with chopped ham, smoked gouda mixed with a bit of mayo and stone ground mustard. Yum. For a very kid friendly bierock, mix pizza sauce with shredded mozzerella & chopped pepperoni.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RaisinKane aka Patti

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Damascus, Oregon, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2002
I think my first mistake was using refrigerated breakstick dough. It was harder to work with than I imagined and almost all of my pockets didn't seal. Second, I thought that 3tbs prepared mustard meant refrigerated French's mustard. I used 2tbs Yellow and 1 tbs Brown, but that was all you could taste was just yellow mustard. Third, I sliced my cabbage and it was in long thick pieces - I tried to chop it at that point... Was I supposed to grate it? I think by not understanding the recipe I ruined it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SNACKIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2011
WOW! These were absolutely amazing! I did end up having to add nearly an extra 2 cups of flour to bring the dough together, and also added a tspoon of salt because I can't imagine a bread dough without salt, but other than that I followed the bread recipe. I did end up altering the meat mixture after tasting it to suit it to our tastes, but these were such a hit at the Oktoberfest party I attended. Here's what I did: grab about a 2" ball of dough, flatten it and gently stretch it to about 4" or 5" in diamter. If this dough has been kneaded enough, you shouldn't have to worry about it breaking open, but don't push it. I put a very large spoonful of mixture in since the reviews all said they had a ton of filling leftover. You can add more than you think because the dough stretches nicely around it and I didn't end up with any extra filling (though I did cut down the filling ingredients slightly). AFter adding the additional 2c of flour, I'd say I was able to make about 2 batch of 8 or 9, & because the bread expands quite a bit during cooking, they turned out to be the size of a good sized burger w/ a beautiful bread to filling ratio. Brush the top with an egg wash (egg white and a quick splash of water) and sprinkle with a dash of sea salt and something like dried onions or Mrs. Dash for color and texture and appearance. Can't wait to try this one with different fillings; I think I'll try an orange egg wash mixture and make pumpkins for Halloween!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jstorment

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2003
I let my bread machine do the work thru the second rise. When I checked on the dough it had totally overflowed in my machine, making a sticky mess. I found that I had to add approx 3/4 cup more flour and dust my hands frequently in order to work with the dough. The filling was out of this world! I added more mustard (dijon type) and more cheese (white cheddar). Other than the sticky dough, these were fantastic! Next time I will do the dough by hand (probably for best results anyway).Even my mom and her friend who have published 8 cookbooks between the two of them (one being a bread baking book) thought these were outstanding!Thanks for sharing, Kim!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2002
Ok..I cheated and bought frozen roll dough but this recipe was awesome for the filling part of it!! Will definately make these again!!~
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 116) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Kraut Bierocks

Try this authentic German meat-filled pastry for a light dinner or hearty snack.

Beef Pot Pie III

See how to make a simple pot pie with beef and all the veggies.

Swedish Meatballs I

See how to make easy, twice-baked Swedish meatballs in a creamy sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States