Kraut Bierocks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2010
I made these for my younger brothers and it was a hit. The bread mix was soft and smooth. Although I didn't use the exact meat mixture. I did the basic cabbage, hamburger, onion salt, pepper and cheddar cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2010
I have been eating these all my life as my mother is half German. These are so versatile and ohhhh so good. My mother has added shredded carrots and used frozen bread dough or refrigerated biscuits as substitutes for making the dough. I have never had them with cheese in/on them but I bet they are good like that too. I also like dipping them in soy sauce, which makes them taste almost like Asian dim-sum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Syndi Harris Bowlan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Prosser, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2009
Loved this recipe! It reminded me of the bierocks my grandmother use to make. The only change is I used the bread machine sweet dinner roll recipe. Much easier! I will make it again. My husband and all 3 of kids said they like it too (and this never happens)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
I grew up in Kansas and my mother made these often. After finding this recipe, I decided to share them at a friends and family gathering. They disappeared within ten minutes. Highly recommended!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TRAVELER77B

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2009
Yum, yum....these were so good and a neat change up in the dinner line up. I added some caraway (1T) seeds and I though that really added something to it...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2009
Being from an old German family, I grew up eating these. But my mom made them differently. First, she never used sweet bread. She used a white bread recipe. I noticed some had problems cutting the cabbage. I cut the head in fourths then core each piece; lay a piece on its flat surface and with a sharp knife slice very thin slices starting at a pointed end. Also we never used mustard in these however I think it tastes good in these. Mom and now myself, will usually bake half of these and in a cast iron skillet heat about one inch oil till about 350 degrees. And put in two to three at a time. Brown one side then flip and brown the other. Healthy? probably not but it sure tastes good. Overall I think this is a pretty good recipe just not authentic like I am used to. My parents were also Volga Germans and even among them, there are very many variations. But, I am looking forward to trying this version.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Longview, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2009
Sooo good! I used Rhodes frozen rolls to speed things up. I made the recipe as is, except I did reduce the salt by half. I used 2% cheese to lighten it up a bit, and next time I will try turkey sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by erz2002

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dover, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Dillsburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2009
I didn't have any shorting so I ended up using butter and it turned out out excellent. I used my kitchen aid to kneed the bread and found that I needed very little extra flour. I also used ground pork and and season it with red pepper flakes, fennel seed, paprika and italian seasoning. I also took the advise of other and added extra cabbage and onion. I ended up using cheddar cheese and mozzarella cheese instead. Everyone loved this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2009
I've been making a similar variety for years, try using sourdough bread. Krusteaze make a box , add 1 cup water, rise 1 hour, then roll out and use kraut filling, I can make 8 very big beirocks with one box. never thought of using mustard before, that is an interesting twist. but good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2009
My family didn't care for the flavor of the meat filling. It freezes and reheats very well, so I hope to find a filling that works better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natural & Good4U

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 41-50 (of 117) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Kraut Bierocks

Try this authentic German meat-filled pastry for a light dinner or hearty snack.

Beef Pot Pie III

See how to make a simple pot pie with beef and all the veggies.

Swedish Meatballs I

See how to make easy, twice-baked Swedish meatballs in a creamy sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States