Kraut Bierocks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2005
I was disappointed with this recipe. I didn't think it was amazing like so many others. Although I do say they were better reheated after being frozen, than right out of the oven. If I was to make this again though I have a few tips. I would roll the dough out fairly thin so that you don't have lots of bites with only bread. I would make sure to use the processed cheese (I didn't have any and didn't use it and I think it would be better with it.) These do freeze well but I'm not sure if I will make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2005
The first time I made these it was so much work that I swore I would never make them again. But my family went NUTS over them! My MIL has a new respect for me now! They're very tasty. To make things easier, I make the filling one day and freeze it. I only used half the filling when I made it the first time so now I freeze it in two clumps. I use half now and the other half the next time I make them. Then the next day I make the bread and bake them. It's alot easier if you're not trying to do it all at one time. I use Dijon mustard. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2005
Great recipe! After reading reviews about the need for flour. I was on a quest to find the true amount needed. It takes exactly 5 1/2 c flour for perfect dough. Anyway. used my bread machine for the dough only. The only thing I changed was the butter instead of shortening. yummy. Also for those who don't buy powdered milk....dry coffee creamer is a great substitute. Thanks Kim for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2005
This makes a lot of food--enough to feed at least 10 adults! If you give them a salad, you've got a complete meal. They freeze and re-heat in the oven well. I've made them more than once to happy guests!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Texasglori

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dearborn, Michigan, USA
Living In: Fort Richardson, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2004
Mmmm... this was very good. The filling was good, but seemed to be a little bit mild once it was baked into the buns... could have been my choice of mild sausage. (Next time I use this filling, I think I'll use dijon mustard.) The buns are excellent... I'm planning to use the bun portion of the recipie with a bbq'ed pork filling tonight. Thanks for the recipie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2004
I thought this was a wonderful recipe. I gave it 4 star instead of five...( comparing it to the fabulous recipes on this site that I have made..but I did love it!) I will definitely make it again. I doubled the amount of cheese because it seemed to need something. I did not think it was difficult to make..but it did take a bit longer than the recipe suggested. It was even better the second day! A definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MINALEWIS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: South Jordan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2004
I love this recipe, and I just made it again last night for dinner. This makes a ton, and I always get to freeze an entire meal out of this. When I made the dough by hand, I had to add at least 1 cup if not 2 cups of flour. Now I use my dough hook on the kitchenaid, and I find this recipe perfect. The bun is sooo airy and light. My only substitution is butter instead of shortening. Great meal for a cold winter night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2004
I used kraut instead of cabbage and these were wonderful. The leftovers are even great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2004
Great recipe although if u don't cheat, it's takes some work. I think the prep. time should be lengthened to reflect this. I used butter instead of shortening (no trans fats) and I too, like the other reviewers, had to deal with insanely sticky dough! I added so much flour that I ran out. The key to filling the dough is to pile the filling more vertical than horizontal and to pull the stretchy dough up and over like a purse satchel. I had to cook it in batches b/c one 9X13 inch pan only held 1/2 of the bierocks. Turned out great! Very much like a German empanada. (Also, my skillet was too small for all the ingredients so I transferred the filling to a soup pot and it worked fine.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2004
Excellent! I've never made bread before and did ok (not as hard working as I imagined). I used stone ground mustard and it blended in perfect. I've never seen these round rolls before so I made them in rectangles: folded two sides in, then the other two sides (like a burrito). One suggestion: don't squeeze the rolls in the pan cause they tend to expand; let a small space between them to allow them to grow. Thank you for a wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Santo Domingo, Distrito Nacional, Dominican Republic

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 116) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Kraut Bierocks

Try this authentic German meat-filled pastry for a light dinner or hearty snack.

Beef Pot Pie III

See how to make a simple pot pie with beef and all the veggies.

Swedish Meatballs I

See how to make easy, twice-baked Swedish meatballs in a creamy sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States