Kraut Bierocks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2005
Very good. I just used frozen bread dough to save time. The use of sausage and the velveeta cheese makes the filling different from the beirocks I'm used to making. These freeze nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Savanah Orlando

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sublette, Kansas, USA
Living In: Pratt, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2005
I made the filling as noted, but used crescent rolls for the pastry. Sped up the process and they were delicious. Big hit at my party. I had leftover meat mixture and served it over noodles - very good the second day, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vienna, Virginia, USA
Living In: Boonsboro, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2005
I was disappointed with this recipe. I didn't think it was amazing like so many others. Although I do say they were better reheated after being frozen, than right out of the oven. If I was to make this again though I have a few tips. I would roll the dough out fairly thin so that you don't have lots of bites with only bread. I would make sure to use the processed cheese (I didn't have any and didn't use it and I think it would be better with it.) These do freeze well but I'm not sure if I will make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2005
The first time I made these it was so much work that I swore I would never make them again. But my family went NUTS over them! My MIL has a new respect for me now! They're very tasty. To make things easier, I make the filling one day and freeze it. I only used half the filling when I made it the first time so now I freeze it in two clumps. I use half now and the other half the next time I make them. Then the next day I make the bread and bake them. It's alot easier if you're not trying to do it all at one time. I use Dijon mustard. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2005
Great recipe! After reading reviews about the need for flour. I was on a quest to find the true amount needed. It takes exactly 5 1/2 c flour for perfect dough. Anyway. used my bread machine for the dough only. The only thing I changed was the butter instead of shortening. yummy. Also for those who don't buy powdered milk....dry coffee creamer is a great substitute. Thanks Kim for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2005
This makes a lot of food--enough to feed at least 10 adults! If you give them a salad, you've got a complete meal. They freeze and re-heat in the oven well. I've made them more than once to happy guests!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Texasglori

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dearborn, Michigan, USA
Living In: Fort Richardson, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2004
Mmmm... this was very good. The filling was good, but seemed to be a little bit mild once it was baked into the buns... could have been my choice of mild sausage. (Next time I use this filling, I think I'll use dijon mustard.) The buns are excellent... I'm planning to use the bun portion of the recipie with a bbq'ed pork filling tonight. Thanks for the recipie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2004
I thought this was a wonderful recipe. I gave it 4 star instead of five...( comparing it to the fabulous recipes on this site that I have made..but I did love it!) I will definitely make it again. I doubled the amount of cheese because it seemed to need something. I did not think it was difficult to make..but it did take a bit longer than the recipe suggested. It was even better the second day! A definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mina Farahmandi Lewis

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: South Jordan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2004
I love this recipe, and I just made it again last night for dinner. This makes a ton, and I always get to freeze an entire meal out of this. When I made the dough by hand, I had to add at least 1 cup if not 2 cups of flour. Now I use my dough hook on the kitchenaid, and I find this recipe perfect. The bun is sooo airy and light. My only substitution is butter instead of shortening. Great meal for a cold winter night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2004
I used kraut instead of cabbage and these were wonderful. The leftovers are even great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 118) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Kraut Bierocks

Try this authentic German meat-filled pastry for a light dinner or hearty snack.

Beef Pot Pie III

See how to make a simple pot pie with beef and all the veggies.

Swedish Meatballs I

See how to make easy, twice-baked Swedish meatballs in a creamy sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States