Kraut Bierocks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Photo by MommyInBliss
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2007
As others have stated, you need more flour than the recipe asks. I added an additional cup, so my total flour was five cups. Other than that, I think this is a great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MommyInBliss

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Aurora, Colorado, USA
Living In: Thornton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2007
I made a quadruple batch of these recently (for a brewfest) and they were great, but I did not follow the recipe exactly. Like other people, I was shocked when I had to add LOTS more flour than called for to the dough, and I used whole wheat for about 1/3 of the total. I added sauerkraut and chopped homemade giardineira veggies to the innards and the vinegary flavor was great against the sweetness of the dough. I also used mozzarella (I had a ton of it that needed to go away) instead of the other cheese, but would use something stronger like smoked gouda next time. People loved these even when served cold. I grew up in central Kansas with lunch ladies that made these for us in the lunch room and they were the best ever. Not quite what most kids are getting these days in the cafeteria - they are missing out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2007
I've made this 3 times. GREAT recipe..freezes well. Big hit when served at parties. Served with ketchup and also a honey mustard dressing for a dip. Will be making again for a Octoberfest party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2007
Excellent!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cocoa Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2007
One of my best friends is half German, and her mother made these one night when I was visiting. They sure are ugly little things, but taste delicious. This recipe was very similar to hers; we usually add extra sauerkraut as a yummy addition, or substitute green cabbage for red.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2007
Loved this, used spicy Italian sausage and thought we would like it better with sauerkraut instead of plain cabbage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ginger Bryant

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Troy, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2006
The bread didn't turn out quite like I expected and the saussage was strong, but overall it was OK.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2006
What a joy it is to find this wonderful recipe on this site so that others may also enjoy it! Thanks, Kim! On 6/5/03 Marian Elizabeth posted a review for this recipe in which she states that her cookbook, purchased in Kansas, indicates that this recipe came from the Volga Germans who emigrated from Russia. I can verify this as my German grandparents did, in fact, emigrate from Russia, and my Mother made these delicious Bierocks many times as I was growing up. Thank you, Marian Elizabeth for this interesting bit of information concerning the German heritage in America.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2006
The filling was fantabulous. The bread tasted really good after it was cooked, but was incredibly hard to work with - I added a cup and a half of flour above the 4 cups called for, and it was still too sticky to work. (I had run out of flour or I would have continued adding)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2006
Wonderful. Wonderful. Wonderful. Simply delicious. I made no changes to the recipe & these turned out GREAT. I got raving reviews from the crowds!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Williamsburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 117) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Kraut Bierocks

Try this authentic German meat-filled pastry for a light dinner or hearty snack.

Beef Pot Pie III

See how to make a simple pot pie with beef and all the veggies.

Swedish Meatballs I

See how to make easy, twice-baked Swedish meatballs in a creamy sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States