Kraut Bierocks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2009
My family didn't care for the flavor of the meat filling. It freezes and reheats very well, so I hope to find a filling that works better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natural & Good4U

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2009
My family really liked these. I made the rolls exactly as the recipe stated, using my KitchenAid to do the kneading for me. The dough was very nice and soft. I used a variation of the filling: 1 lb of diced Kielbasa, a bag of preshredded coleslaw mix, 1 diced onion, prepared mustard, and pepper. They were nummy! My husband liked his dipped in coarse-ground mustard. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2008
Delicious!They freeze well too if wrapped tightly. The dough was the softest I have ever handled and the filling was great. We all loved the combination of ground meat cabbage and mustard! I gotta make this again..they are addictive!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2008
I have been making these for 50 years, my old Ukraine/German Grandmother used to make them. but back in the day when pennies were tight. we only had the ground beef, cabbage, onions salt and pepper. and bread dough. We use an 18 qt Nesco to cook it all down until all the cabbage is wilted down and onions soft. and beef done. drain off and cool. Then roll out the bread dough, cut a square fold them in and bake.. Kids and grandkids called them "grubby ducks" we laugh still at the german/english kids pronounciation of it. as most German cusine dishes, It is excellent fare. freeze well, and reheat in microwave.....Used to take in lunch all the time.. Brings back many memories of dearly missed Gramma and Mom....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COUNTRYRAY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by SPROCK21
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2008
these are great! since i'm not a red meat eater, i made mine with ground turkey and turkey sausage. very good, but i think next time i'll just double the ground turkey and leave out the sausage. i love the bun, though! and as most posters have stated, i needed LOTS more flour, 2 extra cups i think.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SPROCK21

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Zenda, Kansas, USA
Living In: Olathe, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2008
I agree with previous people. I needed to use more flour than the recipe calls for. I also added extra cabbage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2008
My father and I used to make these when I was a child. They make a really nice quick meal that can be stored in the freezer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2008
I didn't have a problem with the dough - I used Splenda instead of sugar and cut the amount in half. I also used 1.5 C wheat flour and 2.5 C white - they turned out great!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2008
This was fun! I used kraut instead of cabbage.... And I cheated (hahah) & used store bought dough. Will for sure make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Maple Shade, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cherry Hill, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2008
I have been making these since I was a little girl, with my dad. His mother taught him to make them, and her mother taught her and so on. I have never seen a recipe for these, just made them from memory. I have heard that you can get these all over the midwest, and that makes sense since my dad and his family are from Nebraska. I usually don't use sausage with the meat, don't like the flavor, but otherwise, looks like a great recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Living In: Port Orchard, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 118) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Kraut Bierocks

Try this authentic German meat-filled pastry for a light dinner or hearty snack.

Beef Pot Pie III

See how to make a simple pot pie with beef and all the veggies.

Swedish Meatballs I

See how to make easy, twice-baked Swedish meatballs in a creamy sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States