Kraut Bierocks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2015
I've made a lot of tasty items based on recipes from here, and have never been compelled to review any of them until now. These are incredible. From the bread to the inclusion of sausage, everything was amazing. Stop looking for other recipes and get on this one immediately.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2015
This was so tedious to make. For me, it took about 3 hours to make, but I'm pretty green to the whole cooking scene. I had a really hard time getting the dough even in thickness, so some of my bierocks broke while they were in the oven. In the end though, I felt like a baller making my own dough from scratch, and being mostly German, I got to call my family and brag about the endeavor. It's difficult to where I won't make it weekly, but tastes good enough to where it still makes the "special occasion" cooking list.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
this is so good I have made it several times, recently I wanted something different, and made dark rye bread dough Oh my this is how I make it all the time now is with the dark rye excellent thanks for sharing it's one we enjoy!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JOANNEH2

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mimi
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2014
Although, what you see took 4 1/2 hours (made a double batch), they are yummy!! I don't think I'd make again, because they're a lot if work, and the end result are buns w hamburger. Sliders would have been much easier...but not authentic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2014
This was the best bierock I have ever had! Wonderful! Everyone loved them. Dipped in marinara sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2014
Hot Pockets no more! Great for hungry 12 year old son after school, and healthier than packaged convenience foods. Tip - do not skip draining the fat from the browned meat - it keeps the bread from being soggy after baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by clubby981

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Allen Park, Michigan, USA
Living In: West Bloomfield, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2014
Followed recipe exactly to start with except for doubling it all. The dough required quite a bit more flour than stated. Without it, the dough was super sticky and impossible to work with. I will not use the italian sausage with this recipe again. The first batch i baked in a baking dish and I didn't like the way they turned out. The second batch I baked on a cookie sheet and liked them a lot better. The dough tasted well, doughy...I am not sure how to fix that though, maybe more sugar since I had to add so much more flour? Will try again with my changes...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
I made a profile just so I could rave about this recipe! The only change I made was I had no powdered milk, so I did as another user suggested and added about 1/4 cup of 1% milk (give or take to adjust dough consistency), and they came out fabulous. These are so yummy, and super easy to freeze and thaw in the microwave to eat on the go. (The last batch I made, I froze half to save them and ended up eating them all week anyhow because they are SO good. Like little mini pocket sandwiches!) I didn't make the sauerkraut version, just the cabbage and omg. Did I mention they are unbelievable????
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2014
Did not like the mustard in this recipe, and seemed like too much cheese (if that's ever possible) I'm not giving up on finding a great Bierock recipe, but this is not it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
Tasty. Freezes and reheats well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 120) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Kraut Bierocks

Try this authentic German meat-filled pastry for a light dinner or hearty snack.

Beef Pot Pie III

See how to make a simple pot pie with beef and all the veggies.

Easy Meatloaf

A simple, no-fail beef meatloaf with a tangy topping that's ready in no time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States