Kraut Bierocks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2002
Excellent! I have never made bread before or used yeast, but they turned out great the first time!! I used sauerkraut, and these were devoured. One thing I would like to mention (and hope to see other comments regarding sometime) is: Since I am a bit 'green' when it comes to making bread, I was hoping for a bit more instruction regarding the dough, like - how sticky is too sticky? (mine was VERY sticky!!), and how long do I need the dough the second time (ie. after it sits - another 10 minutes, or 3 "kneeds" or what?)? and how do I use all that meat? (the buns I made were HUGE, since I couldn't seem to figure out how to cut down the size and thickness of each dough piece without having it split open from the "large spoonful of meat" called for.) Oh well, it was great! Thanks, I'll have to try these again with the other half of the meat I had left - haha! :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Rossburn, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2003
I let my bread machine do the work thru the second rise. When I checked on the dough it had totally overflowed in my machine, making a sticky mess. I found that I had to add approx 3/4 cup more flour and dust my hands frequently in order to work with the dough. The filling was out of this world! I added more mustard (dijon type) and more cheese (white cheddar). Other than the sticky dough, these were fantastic! Next time I will do the dough by hand (probably for best results anyway).Even my mom and her friend who have published 8 cookbooks between the two of them (one being a bread baking book) thought these were outstanding!Thanks for sharing, Kim!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2001
I really like this recipe. I didn't have dry milk on hand so I used about 1/4 cup of 1% milk, and added more flour. I was worried about how the dough would turn out because I had to add quite a lot more flour due to stickiness, BUT ... it turned out great. I will make this again, many times. Angela
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2003
Very Good. I split the recipe in half and made half with sauerkraut and half with cabbage. Both were good. I recommend increasing the amount of shredded cabbage though because it wilts down a lot. I did cut the amount of salt by half and the pepper by half. Velveeta is hard to shred so I cubed it and it melted in nicely. I used turkey Italian sausage and ground sirloin. The stuffing was moist without being greasy. It makes a lot so I froze some and I'm looking forward to eating it again soon. For those who haven't made bread, the shortening should be melted, cooled to lukewarm, and added to the yeast and water mixture before the flour. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2001
This recipe is a bit time consuming but the result is worth the effort - it is delicious! I made the 10 serving size recipe so I have leftovers for a weekend meal! Great!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2001
These were absolutely delicious! I did need to add quite a bit of flour when making the dough, but they turned out great. My 10-year old (who hates cabbage and sauer kraut) went back for seconds. I don't think I'll share the recipe with him. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2001
My husband loves these!! I also added bacon to my meat mixture. It added even more flavor to them. GOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2001
I had my husband help me make this and the whole time he wasn't sure if he'd like it (hates cabbage). But I made him and it tasted great. Took a lot longer than expected and I ended up with much more dough and filling than just for 10. Great as left overs, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2001
Great Recipe!! Tough as it involves baking it takes a little extra work, it has a very nice presentation, its cheap and people love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2002
This recipe was delicious!!! The dough was very easy to make compared to others I have tried and the filling was hard to stop eating. although, next time we will pay attention to details....We put in 2 tablespoons of salt instead of 2 teaspoons! OOPS! Thank you for this wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 116) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Kraut Bierocks

Try this authentic German meat-filled pastry for a light dinner or hearty snack.

Beef Pot Pie III

See how to make a simple pot pie with beef and all the veggies.

Swedish Meatballs I

See how to make easy, twice-baked Swedish meatballs in a creamy sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States