Kraut Bierocks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
Made these for an Oktoberfest party and they were a smash! Very tasty and cheesy. There were scooped up right away. The only thing I would do different is split the filling recipe in half because I ran out of bread dough half way through, either that or make twice the dough. I also added a teaspoon of garlic powder to the meat to give it a little more flavor. I put the leftovers in the fridge for the next day and made another batch of dough and it worked out perfectly! Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2010
These are simply great!! I used Rhodes frozen bread rolls, instead of making my own bread... While I believe home made bread is the BEST, my RA will not allow for all that kneading. I adore these made with sauerkraut and ground beef, or cabbage, and bacon. It's different, yes, but boy are they good. The combo of cabbage with bacon... YUM!! We use them for suppers and lunches. I have never tried cheese in them, I'll have to give that a try. Rhodes frozen rolls work BEST when thawed at room temp. Cooler than that, is way to hard to use. I roll one out, cut it into, roll out again to make round, apply my meat & such, then roll up like a dinner roll, turn over and place in a slightly greased 9 x 13 pan. let raise again and then bake. You can add all sorts of stuff, as others have stated. This is just our way of eating them. I make two pans of each. My Husband always makes a big deal out of, "which one will I eat first". It doesn't matter, they both are GREAT!! And yes they do freeze wonderfully!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherrie4222

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Billings, Montana, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2010
These are so good! I make them all summer long to take along to baseball and football games with the kids. They keep for a few days in the fridge and even frozen and reheated they are very tasty! We worked out a manufacturing line to make them and got the time down to 20 min for double the recipe. I make the dough in my breadmaching on the dough setting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heidi Placanico

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Babenhausen, Hessen, Germany
Living In: Three Rivers, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2010
I made these for my younger brothers and it was a hit. The bread mix was soft and smooth. Although I didn't use the exact meat mixture. I did the basic cabbage, hamburger, onion salt, pepper and cheddar cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2010
I have been eating these all my life as my mother is half German. These are so versatile and ohhhh so good. My mother has added shredded carrots and used frozen bread dough or refrigerated biscuits as substitutes for making the dough. I have never had them with cheese in/on them but I bet they are good like that too. I also like dipping them in soy sauce, which makes them taste almost like Asian dim-sum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Syndi Harris Bowlan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Prosser, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2009
Loved this recipe! It reminded me of the bierocks my grandmother use to make. The only change is I used the bread machine sweet dinner roll recipe. Much easier! I will make it again. My husband and all 3 of kids said they like it too (and this never happens)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
I grew up in Kansas and my mother made these often. After finding this recipe, I decided to share them at a friends and family gathering. They disappeared within ten minutes. Highly recommended!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TRAVELER77B

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2009
Yum, yum....these were so good and a neat change up in the dinner line up. I added some caraway (1T) seeds and I though that really added something to it...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2009
Being from an old German family, I grew up eating these. But my mom made them differently. First, she never used sweet bread. She used a white bread recipe. I noticed some had problems cutting the cabbage. I cut the head in fourths then core each piece; lay a piece on its flat surface and with a sharp knife slice very thin slices starting at a pointed end. Also we never used mustard in these however I think it tastes good in these. Mom and now myself, will usually bake half of these and in a cast iron skillet heat about one inch oil till about 350 degrees. And put in two to three at a time. Brown one side then flip and brown the other. Healthy? probably not but it sure tastes good. Overall I think this is a pretty good recipe just not authentic like I am used to. My parents were also Volga Germans and even among them, there are very many variations. But, I am looking forward to trying this version.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Longview, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2009
Sooo good! I used Rhodes frozen rolls to speed things up. I made the recipe as is, except I did reduce the salt by half. I used 2% cheese to lighten it up a bit, and next time I will try turkey sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by erz2002

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dover, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Dillsburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 120) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Kraut Bierocks

Try this authentic German meat-filled pastry for a light dinner or hearty snack.

Beef Pot Pie III

See how to make a simple pot pie with beef and all the veggies.

Easy Meatloaf

A simple, no-fail beef meatloaf with a tangy topping that's ready in no time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States