Kraut Bierocks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by tas70
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
This is fantastic! I love cabbage but the rest of my family are not so fond of it but they loved these. The first time I made these I made exactly as the recipe says too but the 2nd time I had to use what I had which was 1 pound ground beef, 1/2 pound bacon, a can of seasoned cabbage and some Swiss cheese. Still delicious!! I am going to made some more today but make the filling with ham and sharp cheddar. Anyone that is using pre-made dough is really missing out because this dough is amazingly good and these also freeze great. Bake as directed, let cool, wrap in plastic wrap and put in a freezer bag. Heat in microwave about 2 minutes for a quick lunch for the kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2012
I didn't want to deal with the dough, so I took the meat & sauerkraut mixture and put it on a pack of hawaiian sweet rolls & made sliders (baking in the over for about 15-20 min). A nice change from our usual sliders, and a great use for leftover sauerkraut. I would make again this way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hartsellem

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lancaster, Ohio, USA
Living In: Pickerington, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2012
the flavor of bread and filling was very good--even better than mother's! like another reviewer, i let my bread machine do the mixing and rising of bread. however, that was the only variance i made from the recipe. when we placed them in the baking dish, they "ran together" and we didn't get true individual pockets. still delicious, but i think a baking sheet might do a little better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jared

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by moaa
Reviewed: May 3, 2012
We loved this! No side dish necessary. Not even sure what goes with this but me and my husband dipped it with mustard. I didnt shred my cabbage; I chiffonade (sp?) it widely. I think I'll add more cabbage next time. Love the dough as well, altough, I had to add way more than it called for. Halved the recipe and got at least 15 bierocks if using 2 tablespoons of filling for a 1/4-1/3 cup dough (about an ice cream scooper size). The dough wrapped around the filling so nicely. Just make sure not to roll it out too thin because it will stretch a bit while baking. Also, I did an egg wash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moaa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2012
This filling was very very good, I couldn't get the dough to flatten out and was probably not patient enough, but I will definately make the filling again, maybe try it over some egg noodles next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2011
Excellent! Everyone loves these. My first attempt at bierocks and the only problem was mine. I used a too spicy sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Oldguy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dodge City, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
Really good! But I must say I have a few qualms with the recipe... The flour amount is not enough. I added a ton! It could really be more specific. I had never tried, or even seen a beirrock before. How big of a piece of dough? How flat? How wide should it be? What exactly qualifies a "spoonful"? My result was a wonderful, albiet overly bready creation. I'll do it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2011
These are incredible. Plenty of room for tweaking depending upon your choice of mustard and whether you use cabbage or kraut. I can definitely see playing with the cheese as well. For my first batch, I went with a dijon mustard and also added a little swiss. My husband devoured them. His observation was that the filling had the consistency of a spring roll, but tasted like a hamburger/slider. Definite keeper for party snack food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hot Springs, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Garland, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2011
WOW! These were absolutely amazing! I did end up having to add nearly an extra 2 cups of flour to bring the dough together, and also added a tspoon of salt because I can't imagine a bread dough without salt, but other than that I followed the bread recipe. I did end up altering the meat mixture after tasting it to suit it to our tastes, but these were such a hit at the Oktoberfest party I attended. Here's what I did: grab about a 2" ball of dough, flatten it and gently stretch it to about 4" or 5" in diamter. If this dough has been kneaded enough, you shouldn't have to worry about it breaking open, but don't push it. I put a very large spoonful of mixture in since the reviews all said they had a ton of filling leftover. You can add more than you think because the dough stretches nicely around it and I didn't end up with any extra filling (though I did cut down the filling ingredients slightly). AFter adding the additional 2c of flour, I'd say I was able to make about 2 batch of 8 or 9, & because the bread expands quite a bit during cooking, they turned out to be the size of a good sized burger w/ a beautiful bread to filling ratio. Brush the top with an egg wash (egg white and a quick splash of water) and sprinkle with a dash of sea salt and something like dried onions or Mrs. Dash for color and texture and appearance. Can't wait to try this one with different fillings; I think I'll try an orange egg wash mixture and make pumpkins for Halloween!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jstorment

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
I love bierocks! The first time i tried them was here in Ks. I bought a cookbook from an auction, that happened to be money raising cookbook for a close by college. When i found this one i was very interested and decided to make it. I have made it many many times since then. I decided to see what i could come up with on this site tonight because i didnt want to take the time to dig out my trusty cookbook and wahlah i tried this one and was i glad i did :) so gooooood my family loved these! I make half with cheese and half without because i like them better without the cheese. i never have enough for leftovers! I end up giving them out to extended family members and they too are so pleased with these! YUMMMY is all i can say!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eden

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 120) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Kraut Bierocks

Try this authentic German meat-filled pastry for a light dinner or hearty snack.

Gravy Baked Pork Chops

Fork-tender baked pork chops with mushroom gravy.

Beef Pot Pie III

See how to make a simple pot pie with beef and all the veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States