Kraut Bierocks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
Great Recipe! I just made these for dinner and they were a hit! I used someones idea about using Rhodes rolls and it made it easy and convenient. Try using velvetta cheese and sharp cheddar. I will continue to makes these as they remind me of a neighbor who made them every halloween since I was a kid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2013
My hubby and I were invited to an Oktober Fest party here in our new community. Everybody was to bring a German inspired dish and I decided to make this one. I almost cheated and bought frozen dinner rolls instead of making my own. Boy am I glad I made the recipe as stated! The dough was so fun to work with… I too had to add about 1.25 – 1.5 more cups of flower as others stated. I mixed mine in my stand mixer with the dough hook and then once together I kneaded it out on my counter. These turned out so good! There was someone else who made these and called them Kraut Burgers made with only ground beef so I thought mine were much better. A German lady there told me that Kraut Bierocks translate into Kraut burgers… she was surprised that I know the proper word for them. I will for make these again (from scratch) and play around with the filling to change things up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by love2cook32

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plano, Texas, USA
Living In: Mckinney, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2013
These were fabulous! I used a large can of drained and quickly rinsed kraut and added garlic, but otherwise followed the filling recipe exactly. I used Rhodes rolls and didn't defrost enough, so I had tons of extra filling and made them again the next night. Initially, I made 12 rolls and my boyfriend ate 9 of them for dinner! With 1/4 cup filling they baked up about the size of a baseball. They are perfect little bundles and they came out with a perfect filling to dough ratio for my tastes. I'll definitely be making these again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2013
These were so good. I made them yesterday I used sauerkraut(1cup drained) because that was all I had in the fridge and I just had to try them. I am going to make them again next weekend for a crowd. I am hosting Thanksgiving dinner. I know they will be a hit. Thank you for sharing such a fantastic recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SONG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Saskatchewan, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2013
I did everything except prepared mustard I also used 1/3 cup for measuring meat stuffing and 1/4 cup to measure bread . th cheese is a nice binder. I had dough left over used it make apple cinimon cream rum cobbler.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2013
This dough worked great. I've made it twice and forgot the shortening in the 2nd batch, and it still worked well. I like this filling, but I'm also going to try the dough for empanadas, as I think it will work for them also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2013
These were a crowd pleaser. The recipe is easy and turned out prettier than the picture. I did not use as much cheese as the recipe, but the dough was great, I will probably try with my favorite empanada filling. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2013
OMG I cannot believe I found this - I didn't even know how to spell it but once I saw it I knew it. Years of growing up and now found - vindicated! It exists! We made these a lot over years - we used frozen diner rolls that rise as they thaw (Rhodes) the texas size diner rolls work best. Then really it's just hamburger and cabbage cooked. You have to roll out the diner rolls of course. Put mean in middle - pick up twist and seat on cookie sheet on it's twist. Quick and somewhat painless. You can do full monty and make the dough but shortcuts are best. It just isn't right without cabbage - would go to kraut with with it. Just really jazzed I found it. Haven't tried this particular recipe but give it a go my way or theirs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by tas70
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
This is fantastic! I love cabbage but the rest of my family are not so fond of it but they loved these. The first time I made these I made exactly as the recipe says too but the 2nd time I had to use what I had which was 1 pound ground beef, 1/2 pound bacon, a can of seasoned cabbage and some Swiss cheese. Still delicious!! I am going to made some more today but make the filling with ham and sharp cheddar. Anyone that is using pre-made dough is really missing out because this dough is amazingly good and these also freeze great. Bake as directed, let cool, wrap in plastic wrap and put in a freezer bag. Heat in microwave about 2 minutes for a quick lunch for the kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2012
I didn't want to deal with the dough, so I took the meat & sauerkraut mixture and put it on a pack of hawaiian sweet rolls & made sliders (baking in the over for about 15-20 min). A nice change from our usual sliders, and a great use for leftover sauerkraut. I would make again this way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hartsellem

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lancaster, Ohio, USA
Living In: Pickerington, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 118) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Kraut Bierocks

Try this authentic German meat-filled pastry for a light dinner or hearty snack.

Beef Pot Pie III

See how to make a simple pot pie with beef and all the veggies.

Swedish Meatballs I

See how to make easy, twice-baked Swedish meatballs in a creamy sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States