Kraut Bierocks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2004
I love this recipe, and I just made it again last night for dinner. This makes a ton, and I always get to freeze an entire meal out of this. When I made the dough by hand, I had to add at least 1 cup if not 2 cups of flour. Now I use my dough hook on the kitchenaid, and I find this recipe perfect. The bun is sooo airy and light. My only substitution is butter instead of shortening. Great meal for a cold winter night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2004
I used kraut instead of cabbage and these were wonderful. The leftovers are even great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2004
Great recipe although if u don't cheat, it's takes some work. I think the prep. time should be lengthened to reflect this. I used butter instead of shortening (no trans fats) and I too, like the other reviewers, had to deal with insanely sticky dough! I added so much flour that I ran out. The key to filling the dough is to pile the filling more vertical than horizontal and to pull the stretchy dough up and over like a purse satchel. I had to cook it in batches b/c one 9X13 inch pan only held 1/2 of the bierocks. Turned out great! Very much like a German empanada. (Also, my skillet was too small for all the ingredients so I transferred the filling to a soup pot and it worked fine.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2004
Excellent! I've never made bread before and did ok (not as hard working as I imagined). I used stone ground mustard and it blended in perfect. I've never seen these round rolls before so I made them in rectangles: folded two sides in, then the other two sides (like a burrito). One suggestion: don't squeeze the rolls in the pan cause they tend to expand; let a small space between them to allow them to grow. Thank you for a wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Santo Domingo, Distrito Nacional, Dominican Republic

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2004
I made this recipe as written several years ago and they were wonderful, if a little mild in the meat filling. I'm getting ready to make them again. I think I'm going to squeeze a couple of fresh brats out of the casings to add to the beef. And I'll probably use sauerkrat. YUM! Thanks for posting this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2004
These turned out beautifully.....just the right proportion of dough to filling.....it made 13 large bierocks....I took some hot Italian sausages out of the casings and used more sausage than ground beef....the bread is wonderful and worth making.....I wouldn't sub anything else....I served them with homemade mango chutney and they were scrumptious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JAYNE04

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2004
The filling was to die for! I followed the recipe exactly, except I didn't measure out the cabbage, I just used about 1/2 a head of it and it was just enough. I also didn't use the dough from this recipe, I used the "Sweet Dinner Rolls" for the dough (since it's easy and I don't have powdered milk). Turned out excellent, except I had more filling than dough. Made them all and froze them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2004
Deliciously filling! My family stuffed themselves on this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2003
We had a German potluck at our Lutheran School and I needed a recipie I could make ahead and freeze so my husband could warm up while I was at work. These fit the bill perfect and they were delicious. I will be making more for my own family to enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2003
Tried this recipe on a Saturday when I had more time to make the dough. I had to add about 3/4 cup more flour because it was too sticky. They turned out great, nice and soft bread exterior. Wonderful as leftovers. A great weekend experiment!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 120) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Kraut Bierocks

Try this authentic German meat-filled pastry for a light dinner or hearty snack.

Beef Pot Pie III

See how to make a simple pot pie with beef and all the veggies.

Easy Meatloaf

A simple, no-fail beef meatloaf with a tangy topping that's ready in no time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States