Kraut Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2008
I made these for Thanksgiving and Christmas this year and they are a huge hit!! I found that refrigerating them overnight seemed to bring out the flavors more than just refrigerating for 1 hour. These are excellent!! Try with a dip of equal parts mayo and dijon mustard!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trisha

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2008
I experienced this wonderful appetizer this last Christmas and it was great!! The only difference in recipes is mine has about a 1/4 cup of minced onions, reg. mustard, bread crumbs instead of crackers and only 4 oz oz cream cheese. I actually just made the recipe myself earlier today and I didn't have any bread crumbs. Not wanting to go to the store I thought about using the crushed crackers but was to afraid of changing what I had already loved. Now I know that it has been done and I will definetly try it w/ more cream cheese and crackers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2008
Not sure why the recipes calls for dijon musturd. It should call for regular yellow mustard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jackson, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2008
Wonderful surprise. Thanks for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Blue Rapids, Kansas, USA
Living In: Odell, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2005
These are really good! I halved the recipe since it was just my husband and I and it was plenty for the two of us. I will be serving these New Years Day along side the rest of the annual kraut dishes. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2006
I had some leftover kraut & found this recipe after an ingredient search. Although my husband didn't care for it, I loved it. I think he was expecting more of a beef meatball. The flavor was tangy but the cream cheese mellowed it out. I dipped mine in a warm apricot dipping sauce (apricot jelly, mustard, honey) and thought it was excellent. I might tinker with the recipe and try it as a hot dip, baked with the cracker crumbs on top. Thanks for a treat Kendrajean!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GRANNYLOOHOO

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Bixby, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Magnolia, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
We replaced the Sausage with ground beef and left out the mustard but these were so good! Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2009
OH my goodness! I love sauerkraut, my b/f does not. This was probably the most original recipe I've found yet that utilizes sauerkraut, which I was trying to get rid of. These were too easy & fun to make! I had only 1/2 lb. sausage & was cooking for two, so I halved the recipe. [Using less cream cheese is TOTALLY OK!] I used half a pkg. of cream cheese and threw in a couple wedges of Wee Brie for extra creaminess. I didnt even freaking let the mix sit for an hour before rolling them into balls and baking them; my b/f RAVED and said they were soo-oo delicious. I served them alongside fresh sauteed grean beans and they made a great meal! This is SUCH a keeper, especially for a German sauerkraut loving girl like me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angelika

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Belfair, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2010
Fantastic! I do have to agree with some of the other reviewers here that there is a bit too much moisture. Next time I will cut the amount of cream cheese. I am also going to add some sauteed onion, I think that would really add to the flavor of these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lux

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Powell, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Seal Rock, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2011
These are addicting, I only used half the amount of cream cheese, and they were delicious. Messy to make, but worth it. =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sausage Balls

These juicy sausage balls are great for parties.

Spicy Orange Bison Balls

See how to make a lower-fat version of cocktail meatballs.

Sweet and Sour Meatballs

These 5-star cocktail meatballs are simmered in a simple sweet and sour sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States