Kraut Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2010
Fantastic! I do have to agree with some of the other reviewers here that there is a bit too much moisture. Next time I will cut the amount of cream cheese. I am also going to add some sauteed onion, I think that would really add to the flavor of these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lux

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Powell, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Seal Rock, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
We replaced the Sausage with ground beef and left out the mustard but these were so good! Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MBKRH
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2009
These were okay, but nothing exciting. I made the recipe as written, so maybe it was my taste buds that were off tonight. I made about 20 medium sized balls but only ate 3 before I put the leftovers away. I'd probably try this again sometime, though. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2009
OH my goodness! I love sauerkraut, my b/f does not. This was probably the most original recipe I've found yet that utilizes sauerkraut, which I was trying to get rid of. These were too easy & fun to make! I had only 1/2 lb. sausage & was cooking for two, so I halved the recipe. [Using less cream cheese is TOTALLY OK!] I used half a pkg. of cream cheese and threw in a couple wedges of Wee Brie for extra creaminess. I didnt even freaking let the mix sit for an hour before rolling them into balls and baking them; my b/f RAVED and said they were soo-oo delicious. I served them alongside fresh sauteed grean beans and they made a great meal! This is SUCH a keeper, especially for a German sauerkraut loving girl like me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angelika

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Belfair, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2008
I thought this was very heavy on the cream cheese, so I only used one 8oz block, and it still was too creamy for me, but my partner liked it. I would consider increasing the meat, or still decreasing the cream cheese content.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kasha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2008
These would be wonderful served as an appetizer, I felt they were missing something to be served as the main dish. Make sure to crush the crackers so they are very fine and not to roll the balls too large. Otherwise the measurements were perfect. I used yellow mustard and chilled for five hours in the fridge. I'm not sure how "German" this would be but next time I think I'll mix in some fresh chopped jalapenos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: May 2, 2008
Wonderful surprise. Thanks for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Blue Rapids, Kansas, USA
Living In: Odell, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2008
I made these for Thanksgiving and Christmas this year and they are a huge hit!! I found that refrigerating them overnight seemed to bring out the flavors more than just refrigerating for 1 hour. These are excellent!! Try with a dip of equal parts mayo and dijon mustard!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trisha

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2008
Not sure why the recipes calls for dijon musturd. It should call for regular yellow mustard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jackson, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2008
I experienced this wonderful appetizer this last Christmas and it was great!! The only difference in recipes is mine has about a 1/4 cup of minced onions, reg. mustard, bread crumbs instead of crackers and only 4 oz oz cream cheese. I actually just made the recipe myself earlier today and I didn't have any bread crumbs. Not wanting to go to the store I thought about using the crushed crackers but was to afraid of changing what I had already loved. Now I know that it has been done and I will definetly try it w/ more cream cheese and crackers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sausage Balls

These juicy sausage balls are great for parties.

Boudin Balls

See how to make a crispy, meaty appetizer for game day.

Sweet and Sour Meatballs

These 5-star cocktail meatballs are simmered in a simple sweet and sour sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States