Kowloon's Chinese Chicken Wings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2015
This was okay, but I feel I’ve had better.. Also, I went for the tips and took the salt out since there was the soy sauce already. Not sure if this is something I would make again since it didn’t impress me that much..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
These were really good, but I boiled down the marinade and put some more on top before baking them (400 for 45 minutes) and I think that made them extra salty. My fault. I grew up on Kowloons wings, and I love them (OMG Saugus Wings!). I think next time I will make them without the salt, double the ginger, throw a handful of garlic in, and maybe use brown sugar instead of white. I know this changes the whole recipe, but hey, the heart wants what it wants.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rowley, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
Way too salty...no Asian flavor at all, just salty wings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Raquel Smith

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2014
This is truly a great recipe! I added a little dash of ginger some housin and oyster sauce and 1/3 cooking sherry and a dash of cayenne pepper for a little heat I let it marinate for about a half hr
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by dgolden
Reviewed: May 11, 2014
I recommend using about half the salt. I used low sodium soy and it was still too salty for my liking
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2013
Everyone is saying it is too salty because it is. I grew up on these wings. Best ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2013
WAY WAY TOO SALTY DO NOT PUT THE SALT IN
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
Like many others mentioned, there is too much salt. The wings ended up tasting like salt, followed by soy-sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by yingtchen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
Wonderful flavor. I followed the tips and only did a bit of salt and baked for a lower fat version. Came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Middleboro, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2010
I didn't have the gin, used chinese cooking wine instead. Left out most of the salt, 1tbsp only. Next time I leave out all the salt. I added 1tsp. onion powder and 0.5tsp garlic powder. All chinese food has ginger, garlic and onion. I only had 4 hrs to marinade. Worked out great, a bit salty. I'd make it again for sure. My whole family gobbled them up. Took about 5 or 6 minutes to cook in the hot oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by earth3rd

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ajax, Ontario, Canada

Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Orange Chicken Wings

The perfect wings for people who love spicy orange takeout chicken!

Japanese Chicken Wings

See how to make tangy, sticky, delicious 5-star chicken wings.

Buffalo Chicken Wings I

See how to make restaurant-style Buffalo chicken wings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States