Kowloon's Chinese Chicken Wings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
I followed this recipe just as it is written and I don't think I could alter it to make it any better. However I did use a generic brand and small party piece wings, I will use a better quality of chicken next time and shop for good size wings. A very good and easy recipe that this cook is sure to use again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
These were really good, but I boiled down the marinade and put some more on top before baking them (400 for 45 minutes) and I think that made them extra salty. My fault. I grew up on Kowloons wings, and I love them (OMG Saugus Wings!). I think next time I will make them without the salt, double the ginger, throw a handful of garlic in, and maybe use brown sugar instead of white. I know this changes the whole recipe, but hey, the heart wants what it wants.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rowley, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2009
Ooops. I wrote Horrible but it was for the wrong recipe. sorry, haven't tried these yet. OMG. Sorry, sorry, sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Laconia, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2005
The flavor of these wings is out of this world, they are so good and I left some salt out and the soysauce did the job, you can't keep your hands off these, So GOOOOOOOOOOOD!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by dgolden
Reviewed: May 11, 2014
I recommend using about half the salt. I used low sodium soy and it was still too salty for my liking
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2014
This is truly a great recipe! I added a little dash of ginger some housin and oyster sauce and 1/3 cooking sherry and a dash of cayenne pepper for a little heat I let it marinate for about a half hr
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2010
I didn't have the gin, used chinese cooking wine instead. Left out most of the salt, 1tbsp only. Next time I leave out all the salt. I added 1tsp. onion powder and 0.5tsp garlic powder. All chinese food has ginger, garlic and onion. I only had 4 hrs to marinade. Worked out great, a bit salty. I'd make it again for sure. My whole family gobbled them up. Took about 5 or 6 minutes to cook in the hot oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by earth3rd

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ajax, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2008
These wings are great. I must say though, i have a high tolerance for salty foods. Add lots of fresh garlic and bake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
Wonderful flavor. I followed the tips and only did a bit of salt and baked for a lower fat version. Came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Middleboro, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2013
Everyone is saying it is too salty because it is. I grew up on these wings. Best ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Orange Chicken Wings

The perfect wings for people who love spicy orange takeout chicken!

Japanese Chicken Wings

See how to make tangy, sticky, delicious 5-star chicken wings.

Buffalo Chicken Wings I

See how to make restaurant-style Buffalo chicken wings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States