Kowloon's Chinese Chicken Wings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2005
The flavor of these wings is out of this world, they are so good and I left some salt out and the soysauce did the job, you can't keep your hands off these, So GOOOOOOOOOOOD!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2000
This recipe had way too much salt. I didn't use any and found that the soy sauce made it salty enough. Seemed to lack much flavour except for the soya sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pamjlee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2003
My guests enjoyed these wings alot! I have to say they were too salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2007
I radically changed this recipe to avoid the salt. I usually make about 40 lbs at a time though!!(around 150-170 wings) Also,I added the fresh ground ginger root for a bit of a snap.This feeds around 80-100 people given that we also do lobster tails,scallops in bacon and many different salads. Anyway,for 3 lbs... In a bowl,combine: 1Tbsp salt 3 Tbsps sugar 1/2 tsp ground ginger (or more,to taste) 1 tsp fresh ground ginger root 6 Tbsps HOT water (to dissolve) 6 Tbsps good soy sauce (check Asian markets for the good stuff!!) Kikkoman works 2 Tbsps Tanguerey gin. Stir until salt and sugar are dissolved. place around 16 wings in a 1 gallon ziplock bag.Pour in the marinade. before closing,remove all air possible!! Marinate a minumum of 24 hours,the longer the better,turning every few hours.(I do a minumum of 36) Deep fry (sorry grease haters,but it's WAY faster) at 375% for 5-6 minutes,or until deep golden brown Turn out onto paper towels,dab off grease and keep warm in a 200% oven until ready to serve
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
Wonderful flavor. I followed the tips and only did a bit of salt and baked for a lower fat version. Came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Middleboro, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2007
i also agree with other reviews that this recipe was way too salty. i think maybe next time instead of marinating it for 24hours i will marinate for 24 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Arcadia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2006
So yummy. I baked mine in the oven on cooling racks set on cookie sheets. They still came out nice and crispy, but much lower in fat I'm sure :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chelsey Wolnowski

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Queen Charlotte, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2006
I was dissapointed. I usually bake my wings...it's much less messy and isn't as fatty. I thought these would be the wings from the Kowloon restauraunt in Saugas, MA. This recipe didn't come close. It was just okay.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2006
I agree with the other reviews, way to salty! I will try again cutting the salt to about 1 tablespoon. I also added about 2 tablespoons of fresh lemon juice which gave it alittle more flavor than just soy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2006
Great recipe. Just to salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spicy Orange Chicken Wings

The perfect wings for people who love spicy orange takeout chicken!

Japanese Chicken Wings

See how to make tangy, sticky, delicious 5-star chicken wings.

Buffalo Chicken Wings I

See how to make restaurant-style Buffalo chicken wings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States