Kowloon's Chinese Chicken Wings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2005
The flavor of these wings is out of this world, they are so good and I left some salt out and the soysauce did the job, you can't keep your hands off these, So GOOOOOOOOOOOD!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2000
This recipe had way too much salt. I didn't use any and found that the soy sauce made it salty enough. Seemed to lack much flavour except for the soya sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pamjlee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2003
My guests enjoyed these wings alot! I have to say they were too salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2007
I radically changed this recipe to avoid the salt. I usually make about 40 lbs at a time though!!(around 150-170 wings) Also,I added the fresh ground ginger root for a bit of a snap.This feeds around 80-100 people given that we also do lobster tails,scallops in bacon and many different salads. Anyway,for 3 lbs... In a bowl,combine: 1Tbsp salt 3 Tbsps sugar 1/2 tsp ground ginger (or more,to taste) 1 tsp fresh ground ginger root 6 Tbsps HOT water (to dissolve) 6 Tbsps good soy sauce (check Asian markets for the good stuff!!) Kikkoman works 2 Tbsps Tanguerey gin. Stir until salt and sugar are dissolved. place around 16 wings in a 1 gallon ziplock bag.Pour in the marinade. before closing,remove all air possible!! Marinate a minumum of 24 hours,the longer the better,turning every few hours.(I do a minumum of 36) Deep fry (sorry grease haters,but it's WAY faster) at 375% for 5-6 minutes,or until deep golden brown Turn out onto paper towels,dab off grease and keep warm in a 200% oven until ready to serve
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
Wonderful flavor. I followed the tips and only did a bit of salt and baked for a lower fat version. Came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Middleboro, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2007
i also agree with other reviews that this recipe was way too salty. i think maybe next time instead of marinating it for 24hours i will marinate for 24 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Arcadia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2006
So yummy. I baked mine in the oven on cooling racks set on cookie sheets. They still came out nice and crispy, but much lower in fat I'm sure :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chelsey Wolnowski

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Queen Charlotte, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2006
I was dissapointed. I usually bake my wings...it's much less messy and isn't as fatty. I thought these would be the wings from the Kowloon restauraunt in Saugas, MA. This recipe didn't come close. It was just okay.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2006
I agree with the other reviews, way to salty! I will try again cutting the salt to about 1 tablespoon. I also added about 2 tablespoons of fresh lemon juice which gave it alittle more flavor than just soy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2006
Great recipe. Just to salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Orange Chicken Wings

The perfect wings for people who love spicy orange takeout chicken!

Japanese Chicken Wings

See how to make tangy, sticky, delicious 5-star chicken wings.

Chinese Chicken Fried Rice I

A quick chicken stir-fry with loads of crisp, colorful vegetables.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States