Kowloon's Chinese Chicken Wings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
Good flavor but way, way too salty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2009
I used light soy and added an 1/8 t of chinese 5 spice powder to the marinade...i grilled them (indirect charcoal fire)and i thought that they came out very good...i boiled the marinade and basted them a couple of times during their time on the grill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winchester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Westford, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2009
Ooops. I wrote Horrible but it was for the wrong recipe. sorry, haven't tried these yet. OMG. Sorry, sorry, sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Laconia, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2008
These wings are great. I must say though, i have a high tolerance for salty foods. Add lots of fresh garlic and bake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2008
I started making the marinade but i didn't have any whiskey on had. I tasted the marinade and didn't like the flavor at all. I ended adding some more ingredients,baked it, and dosed it in BBQ sauce. Everyone seem to like...they didn't love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kiburdan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: May Pen, Clarendon, Jamaica
Living In: Apopka, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2007
i also agree with other reviews that this recipe was way too salty. i think maybe next time instead of marinating it for 24hours i will marinate for 24 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Arcadia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2007
I radically changed this recipe to avoid the salt. I usually make about 40 lbs at a time though!!(around 150-170 wings) Also,I added the fresh ground ginger root for a bit of a snap.This feeds around 80-100 people given that we also do lobster tails,scallops in bacon and many different salads. Anyway,for 3 lbs... In a bowl,combine: 1Tbsp salt 3 Tbsps sugar 1/2 tsp ground ginger (or more,to taste) 1 tsp fresh ground ginger root 6 Tbsps HOT water (to dissolve) 6 Tbsps good soy sauce (check Asian markets for the good stuff!!) Kikkoman works 2 Tbsps Tanguerey gin. Stir until salt and sugar are dissolved. place around 16 wings in a 1 gallon ziplock bag.Pour in the marinade. before closing,remove all air possible!! Marinate a minumum of 24 hours,the longer the better,turning every few hours.(I do a minumum of 36) Deep fry (sorry grease haters,but it's WAY faster) at 375% for 5-6 minutes,or until deep golden brown Turn out onto paper towels,dab off grease and keep warm in a 200% oven until ready to serve
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2006
So yummy. I baked mine in the oven on cooling racks set on cookie sheets. They still came out nice and crispy, but much lower in fat I'm sure :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chelsey Wolnowski

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Queen Charlotte, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2006
I was dissapointed. I usually bake my wings...it's much less messy and isn't as fatty. I thought these would be the wings from the Kowloon restauraunt in Saugas, MA. This recipe didn't come close. It was just okay.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2006
I made this a while ago ( sorry just getting to reviewing tonight) and my family loved these especially my 7 year old daughter! Thanks for the delicious recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ninelee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Conway, Arkansas, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Orange Chicken Wings

The perfect wings for people who love spicy orange takeout chicken!

Japanese Chicken Wings

See how to make tangy, sticky, delicious 5-star chicken wings.

Buffalo Chicken Wings I

See how to make restaurant-style Buffalo chicken wings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States