Koula's Best Ever Chicken Gyros Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2013
De-lish!! I did follow others' advice and used a tzatziki recipe (I used Greek tzatziki from this website) instead of plain yogurt. I also cut the yogurt a bit and replaced it with sour cream. I set oven to broil LO and put them in for 10-15 minutes since it was small pieces. Make sure to spoon some of the pan juices onto each sandwich and enjoy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2013
I used the basis of the recipe. Used dry mustard, curry, garlic powder, red pepper flake, lemon pepper, italian seasoning blend and marinated over night with about a tablespoon of olive oil. Served on greek pita that i put on a low broil in oven to give pitas a little crunch. Garnished with lettuce, onion and taziki sauce from trader joes grocery store. Great flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2012
Tasty marinade for sure! We grilled the chicken strips instead and enjoy the flavour of the chicken very much! Thank you for a very tasty chicken dish that is good for company too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by merlion

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2011
I cut my chicken too thin so it cooked fast and ended up a little dry; like the author warned. So I'm going to try it again sometime. My husband really liked it, especially with the taziki sauce we found at the grocery store. I was surprised this recipe didn't have more flavor, but like I said, I'm going to try it again because I think I goofed a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clare, Michigan, USA
Living In: Seaside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
I made the marinade and put it on the chicken a few hours before I cooked the chicken. My "taste tester's" loved it! I made the Tzatziki Cucumber sauce to go with it. So Yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
Almost as good as the ones I had in Greece over the summer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kendra

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2010
These were delish! Made according to the recipe and they were awesome. Instead of grilling the chicken on the grill outside I used a grill pan on the stove. Very nice flavor. I also grilled the onions to add a little sweetness to them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cahlm

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Streamwood, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2009
I didn't care for it but that could be because I didn't use the ketchup. I even made Tzatziki sauce to go over it. It just seemed very bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2009
I "cheated" and used two large cans of canned chicken chunks. Put the marinade over the top and broiled them just long enough to heat them through and start to get crispy. I also used flour tortillas rather than pitas because it's what we had. Added some yellow bell pepper strips too. They were excellent! Everyone that tried them liked them and my picky kids even ate some!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dionna
Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Lancaster, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2009
Was really surprised and pleased with these! I was very skeptical of the idea of "chicken" gyros. But the tasted turned out great. I used chicken tenderloins, which provide the perfect size strip for a pita. Also, didn't have curry on hand, so mixed up some cumin, coriander, red/black pepper and ginger, and the taste was great. Even my picky husband loved the flavor. I used the regular lf yogurt, and while it was missing the cucumber taste of real tzitiki (sp?), the sour of the yogurt really complimented the chicken. I grilled some red and yellow peppers, and dipped those in the extra yogurt, made up some couscous, and we had a great meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Better Than Best Fried Chicken

Discover the secret ingredient that makes this fried chicken the best.

Best Ever Crab Cakes

Delicious, homemade crab cakes that come together quickly.

Low-Cal Hawaiian Chicken Kabob Dinner

This 600-calorie meal is full of tropical and Asian-infused delights.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States