Kosher Salt Encrusted Prime Rib Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
I marinated my 8 pound plus prime rib for 2 days in an olive oil spice concoction. I made my kosher salt snowball and baked it to 138 degrees. My mistake was letting it rest for 20 minutes. My family likes their meat medium rare, i.e. pink with no blood. The thermometer read 150 and was more well done. Like i said, my mistake. If there is a next time, i will serve it immediately. I felt as if i wasted $70.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
The roast turned out great, but I made a couple of improvements. I marinated the prime rib with olive oil and rosemary for two days prior to cooking. Instead of black pepper, I used a dry rub of ground green and pink peppercorns and ground coriander seed. Just put all the dry ingredients into a coffee grinder. I also coated with a little bit of a vegetable-based garlic spread. That's easier than trying to make garlic cloves stick to the meat. When done, I served with a basic gravy made from a dark roux (margarine & flour fried at high heat), beef broth, au jus concentrate, red wine, and juices from the roast. Everybody commented on how well the gravy turned out, despite the fact that I didn't have any beef drippings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
SO perfect! This recipe yields a perfect prime rib from end to end, be sure your thermometer is in the center, not touching a bone. Also instead of the seasoned salt we use montreal steak seasoning and some garlic powder with the pepper, then cover it with kosher salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
very good, family loved! Hard to get the salt to stick even with lots of water
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
FABULOUS, I'll never make prime rib another way again! My roast was 5.08 lbs and took approx. 5 hours at 210F. Like others had suggested, I made a paste with some water to make my salt crust. The salt just breaks off in chunks after resting. I allowed my roast to rest sitting in my microwave.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise D

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lincoln Park, Michigan, USA
Living In: Wyandotte, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
Well, if you've read one review, you've read them all and ours. Excellent recipe, used one reviewer's help and created a "paste" with the salt. TY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Proudmama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bonners Ferry, Idaho, USA
Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
Awesome! Very easy. Wet the Kosher salt down a little to make it pack better. My cut was a little under 5lb and time was still spot on as we like a little more on the rare side of medium. Let sit covered with a towel loosely in the microwave for about an hour and the temp when cut was perfect. My first attempt so will go with a larger cut with more people now I have the confidence! Used a dry mix Au Jus sauce because you cannot make one from the drippings. Get a good horse radish sauce as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
Terrific!! On the cut ends I coated with butter. And I preheated the oven to 450 and cooked the prime rib 15 minutes and then turned down for the rest of the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda K

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
add some fresh sage or rosemary while cooking(even better)fresh garlic will dry the meat out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
i started 25 years ago cooking my Christmas prime rib in this manner. needless to say, it is something we look forward to all year....it is AWESOME!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenifer Good

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 291) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Restaurant-Style Prime Rib Roast

See how to make the perfect special-occasion roast.

How to Make Prime Rib

In this video, you'll see how to prepare the king of all beef cuts.

Perfect Prime Rib

A foolproof method for moist, perfectly pink prime rib with a crispy crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States