Kosher Salt Encrusted Prime Rib Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2015
I have never cooked prime rib and it was incredible. I doubt I will ever buy it in a restaurant again because this was so easy to make. Didn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2015
Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kierok

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Roseville, California, USA
Living In: Elk Grove, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2015
I fix this at least once a year. it is easy and offers the same cut of prime rib to everyone. We take ours out around 130, as it continues to cook in the pan, we all like our prime rib med rare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debbie Flory

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Angie Decolongon
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2015
Made this recipe for 6 people (3 bones ~9 pounds) had the butcher remove the bones then tie back on. Don't worry about the amount of salt used! Crust cracked off nicely! Since I was short on time I cooked it at 350 for 20 mins then decreased the temp to 270 for 3 hours until the meat thermometer hit 130. I removed it and let it rest for 30mins before cracking the crust off and slicing. It was a perfect med rare. Key element is to use all the salt the recipe asks for (I added water to the salt to make a paste so it would stick better) and follow the meat thermometer! the prime rib was soo juicy that the au jus I made on the side wasn't really needed. I won't look at any other recipe besides this. It was a success for my first time making prime rib!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angie Decolongon

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2015
Simply amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Bob
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2014
Absolutely the best ever....took out at 135 for perfect med rare...otherwise the recipe was followed to the tee...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2014
Did a 6 lb roast. Wonderful!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kandie Sampson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2014
Followed the recipe but at 145 the meat is WELL-DONE! Will try it again and cook till 120.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2014
For the minority of people who didn't like the recipe I can only guess that the salt wasn't applied correctly, a meat thermometer wasn't used or possibly just a bad piece of meat to start with. For the meat thermometer, invest in one that I digital with a probe the inserts into the meat and a small heat-proof cable that goes to the digital part and allows you to monitor the thermometer without opening the oven door during the roasting process. Mine was around $25 and is well worth it. Ignore the clock an pay attention to temperature. Second, there seems to be such an issue and debate with the salt and maybe this will help. Just remember back to when you were a kid and you would go to the beach. Remember how the soft, wet sand felt? Remember the consistency that made the best sand castles? That's what you're aiming for here - get the consistency of your salt to the consistency of wet sand and then 'entomb' your meat in the wet salt. I can hear it in the reviews - people are trying to rub it in or sprinkle it on and it's not working, the roast is coming out salty and that is why. Hope that helps! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
Fantastic taste - easy to do! Did a 5.5 lb oven-prepared prime rib roast for Oscar night, seasoned the roast all over with pepper and a package of Lipton onion soup mix,then pasted on a mixture of coarse kosher salt, Montreal steak seasoning and water. I roasted at 425 for 20 minutes, and then at 215 until the temperature reached 140. I let it sit for 15 minutes, cracked/scraped off the crust, and it was perfectly medium, tasty and juicy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Williamsville, New York, USA
Living In: Reading, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 299) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Restaurant-Style Prime Rib Roast

See how to make the perfect special-occasion roast.

How to Make Prime Rib

In this video, you'll see how to prepare the king of all beef cuts.

Perfect Prime Rib

A foolproof method for moist, perfectly pink prime rib with a crispy crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States