Koshary Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2014
It takes more than 2 hours to make this recipe! I lived in Egypt sometime ago, and as part of an International Day at my daughter school, we were ask to bring a dish to the pot luck, I made koshery for the very first time in my life. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Keren Carreon

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2013
In a word - YUCK! I would not feed this to my dog. Took about 3 bites and then dumped it. After reading all the positive reviews I had expectations that this would be really good - It wasn't. It took a long time to make and it was Soooo not worth it. The main dish was bland and tasteless. The chick pea marinade was just plain weird and seemed totally out of place with the rice / pasta. I normally don't write bad reviews but I'm trying to save someone else the trouble of making this awful dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2013
This recipe is delicious! I used to live in Egypt, and this recipe is a winner. Followed all directions to a T, except for adding just a little more garlic to the tomatoes. It was a hit with the husband and with my finicky child as well! I highly recommend it. Great meatless meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2013
Habibti! Thank you for putting your recipe on here!!! Just finished making this and I am very impressed. My boyfriend (soon to be fiance) is from Al Minya and will love this! I will take a look at your other recipes as well..thank you again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by turnleftkasey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2013
Koshari is know as 'a poor man's dish' in the Middle East. I had it all the time while I was living there and it was one of my favorites. Like many 'European' comfort foods we all grew up eating, this one is sure to please everyone. Thanks for the recipe and the memory.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2013
Reminded me of the koshary we had in Egypt. Thank you for a recipe that brings back good memories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by merlion

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2013
I made up all the elements then used 1/3 cup each of lentils, elbows, rice, and sauce per serving. Added a little more garlic to the sauce. By the end of the meal dd proclaimed this a winner and asked to have it for lunch the next day. Will use the submitter suggested caramelized onions next time as neither of us were wild about the canned onions. Served with steamed cauli sprinkled with Dukkah.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAMELA D. aPROpos of nothing

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
This recipe was easy to make. I made it for my son's class at the request of the teacher to have the kids taste traditional Egyptian food. I looked up what Koshary was first and found this recipe to have all the parts of the dish. Since then, I have made this again for our family. I only used half the amount of cayenne pepper and that gave it just enough kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
I loved it. My husband didn't like it all but he has not sense of adventure. I sent some leftovers to my neighbors who also enjoyed it. Followed the recipe exactly. I used brown rice and also added some fresh chopped cilantro on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2012
Absolutely amazing. I made plain brown rice in my rice cooker and stirred in some butter and Better than Bouillon when it was done. I also added a little Better than Bouillon to the tomato sauce. I used 1/2 teaspoon cayenne in the chickpeas so my kids wouldn't complain, and they had a gentle heat. I didn't think there were enough noodles, chickpeas, and tomato sauce to add to the lentils and rice. I would double the chickpeas and noodles, and double or even triple the tomato sauce next time. Makes a ton, but I was happy because I got to eat the leftovers for lunch all week!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LisaJoy

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Marrakesh Vegetable Curry

This meal is bursting with exotic, rich flavors, and is very easy to make.

Mom's Potato Latkes

Crispy, fried potato patties you can serve up for breakfast, lunch, or dinner.

Vegetarian Stuffed Peppers

See how to make a hearty vegetarian main course.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States