Korean-style Seaweed Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2006
So delicious. I've had this soup with the sirloin substituted with clam and made it really, really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baumholder, Rheinland-Pfalz, Germany
Living In: Redmond, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2006
I am 1/2 Korean, 1000 miles away from my mother's cooking and craving seaweed soup! Made this recipe exactly as suggested and it was perfect. Thank you for sharing this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2006
This is a great quick recipe for the city kats, but the healthiest, and usually only made by the country kats because of prep time, is made with stock that has been boiled with marrow for over a day instead of just plain old water...great for those with illness or cancer...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2006
The day before was my burthday. On my birthday morning, my husband served seaweed soup.. that was so sweet and delicous~! Day after my birthday, I found this recipe that he printed out from all recipes~! It was yummy and I was happy~!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2006
A friend brought this to a Korean themed dinner party, and it by far stood out among the other "chef prepared" dishes. I loved it so much, I had to seek out the recipe. I can't wait to make this myself. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leslie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2006
Really simple and delicious! I didn't expect it to taste as good as it did. I wasn't sure what type of seaweed to use, so I ended up using what I had at hand and what's available at my local market -- nori (sushi seaweed). I followed the recipe, but in the future I don't think I'll soak the seaweed ahead of time; doing that made the seaweed completely disintegrate into the soup. I was looking for more structure in the seaweed, not floating, seaweed "particles" in the soup. Next time, I'll just add the seaweed right before ladling it out, since nori gets soft pretty quickly, and let the heat of the hot soup soften the seaweed up. But, overall, very tasty and I'll make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2006
A note to "ivyguppy." The recipe calls for real dried seaweed. Seaweed is perishable and can easily become “slimy,” which is why it is often sold dried. You soak it not only to reconstitute it, but also to rinse off some of the salt. I recommend soaking and rinsing it twice. “Nori” seaweed is bits of seaweed that is pressed together to make the “sushi” sheets. That is why when you used it, it immediately fell apart like tissue paper. For my taste, I like to add a little more meat and sometimes I like to add tofu. Don’t be tempted to “spice it up.” Not everything Korean is meant to be spicy. I am 1/2 Korean and when I gave birth to my twins, my Mom made me a huge pot. I didn't know it was tradition to make/eat seaweed soup for new Moms. Although I had had the soup a million times before, after giving birth...the soup had never tasted better. I can’t explain it, but it was like chicken noodle soup for soul. It has remained a favorite comfort food. I asked my Mom why it was good for me , and she said…in her Korean accent…”It just is.”
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
95 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2007
This is an amaaaazing soup, warms you right up. I've had it every birthday since i was old enough to eat and I always finish it all. Try it people, it's not half as bad as it might sound to some. ^_^
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2007
I love allrecipes.com . I found the recipe for something I looked forward to every year on my birthday. And, when I gave birth to my children, this wonderful soup made me and my breastfed kids very healthy. And it's no myth - this stuff brings on lactation very quickly!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oakville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2007
A note about seaweed: A fair amount of times, I use wakame. It is easy since it is small pieces. However, the traditional way is to use "Dried Seaweed". It is dried seaweed in whole strips; it isn't easy to cut up, and it leaves flakes to clean. I'd cut up the portion you want to use and put it in water. After you transfer it to pot, you can cut it up with a scissor. Some variations: Add chopped/minced clams. Use some beef or chicken broth replacement for some water. (I usually do about 1/2 and 1/2, but I think some recipes use very small portions of the broth.) Add tofu. As another noted, use bone marrow to boil in water instead of plain water. Use thin wedges of onion also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Korean-Style Beef Short Ribs

See how to make Korean-style grilled short ribs.

Wonton Soup

See how to make tasty stuffed wontons simmered in a light chicken broth.

How To Make Miso Soup

Find out how easy it is to make miso soup at home.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States