Korean-style Seaweed Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2009
it's a good recipe. but it takes longer than it says. & of course i added a little more soy sauce. the thing about asian food is that it requires a WHOLE different level of ingredients. not only that, brands matter too. but i cooked chopped rump roast in a sauce pan on high heat. added onions, soy sauce & sesame oil to flavor the beef. then keep cooking it on high heat for over 30 minutes. it made the beef really soft. it made it more flavorful. thanks for the tips of what goes in it. now i dont have to go buy when my daughter feels like having seaweed soup. THANKS!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jeneric71504

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Pearl City, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2009
This was good. Paired it with the Korean cucumber salad recipe from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2008
I made this last night and loved it! My boyfriend wasn't a big fan of it though. I modified the recipe with a few of the suggestions. I added tofu which I pan-fried before adding to the soup, used half water and half chicken stock,and sesame seeds. However, I did use the small bits of seaweed because I couldn't find the kind the recipe called for. The package was more than one ounce so I adjusted the ingredients accordingly. I would make it again, if only my boyfriend would want me to because I love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RMSR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2008
I love seaweed soup. I grew up eating it as a kid at my grandmother's who is full korean. My mom made me some after I had my son ecause she said it is supposed to be good for nursing moms. I dont know how much truth there is to it, but it made me feel a million times better after being up all night as a first time mommy. this recipe is really close,but I think my mom may have added some broth or maybe dried salted seaweed. Cause it was saltier the way she made it. Very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gustavo'sCupcake

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Rucker, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2008
Just like my mother in laws! I will make this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2007
pretty bland compared to other seaweed soup recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2007
Perfect soup! Just like my Mom used to make. I had to add a lot of salt to get the taste but it was wonderful. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2007
great recipe - just like mom used to make! i suggest a little splash of fish sauce (you can get this at any asian market - even wegmans) for more depth of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by possum419

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2007
this is a great recipe.... Korean food recipes differ through each family.... Like in mine instead of soy sauce we would use some da shi da....its the same as using some beef bouillon cubes... I love this soup when I feel a cold coming on I will make this and feel better the next day... Very good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2007
A note about seaweed: A fair amount of times, I use wakame. It is easy since it is small pieces. However, the traditional way is to use "Dried Seaweed". It is dried seaweed in whole strips; it isn't easy to cut up, and it leaves flakes to clean. I'd cut up the portion you want to use and put it in water. After you transfer it to pot, you can cut it up with a scissor. Some variations: Add chopped/minced clams. Use some beef or chicken broth replacement for some water. (I usually do about 1/2 and 1/2, but I think some recipes use very small portions of the broth.) Add tofu. As another noted, use bone marrow to boil in water instead of plain water. Use thin wedges of onion also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Korean-Style Beef Short Ribs

See how to make Korean-style grilled short ribs.

Wonton Soup

See how to make tasty stuffed wontons simmered in a light chicken broth.

How To Make Miso Soup

Find out how easy it is to make miso soup at home.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States