Korean-style Seaweed Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
Very different! I like it! My family did not like the soup, refused to eat it... so I had to eat it all, but I didnt mind because I liked it and it is healthy! I added tofu as other suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tetya

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
Break up your seaweed BEFORE you soak it because it gets really slippery. I needed to add a bit more salt. Overall a very mild soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JeanieMomof3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
Thank you for sharing this recipe. I also had this soup, prepared by my Korean mother, after giving birth to my children and on each of my birthdays. It is both delicious and nourishing. I like to add tofu to it or eat it over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2010
For a more full-bodied stock, use a piece of well cleaned kombu, 2-3 DRIED (must be dried!) shiitake mushrooms, half a onion, 7-8 dried Korean anchovies. You have to get these ingredients at a Korean or Japanese market. But this is the way my mother made the stock. And it is much more flavorful than this recipe. No chicken/beef broth needed! Much more healthier too. There is also 'dashi powder' which is very popular now. It's the stock above in powder form.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Crete, Illinois, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2010
Omitted the garlic and added chicken stock instead of water. Yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2010
Good recipe. I like to make this with korean bbq short ribs. While I am grilling the short ribs, I will add six bones to the soup to give it a richer flavor. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
Really hits the spot. I also like two slices of jalapeno, a small slice of ginger and a little fish sauce added to the water. I don't think these additions are really necessary, it's just to my taste. Wonderful and healthy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salem, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2009
Considering the main ingredients are seaweed and water, I found this recipe to be quite tasty. Bland, yes, but what could you expect with seaweed soup? Used beef tenderloin and some more table salt after tasting. Next time, I would like to use beef broth or chicken broth for the water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2009
Needs a bit of chicken broth (perhaps one cup instead). Remember, wash the seaweed thoroughly and soak it in water for at least an hour and rinse it again. Not sure which seaweed to buy? If in a korean grocery, you can ask which seaweed is best for Miyuk Gook (the name for seaweed soup).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ConnieHR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2009
Very good, but not as good as my Mom's. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by K_Palm

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Grilled Korean-Style Beef Short Ribs

See how to make Korean-style grilled short ribs.

How To Make Miso Soup

Find out how easy it is to make miso soup at home.

Wonton Soup

See how to make tasty stuffed wontons simmered in a light chicken broth.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States