Korean Sushi Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 21, 2010
LOVE the beef flavor in the sushi. I didn't follow it too precisely, but I have no complaints.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2002
This is not a very authentic recipe and the instructions are more complicated than they need to be. There is no purpose to baking the sheets of seaweed until slightly crisp since dry seaweed is already crisp. Just use the seaweek "as is" from the package and it will work fine. In addition to the cucumber you can use a yellow picked radish called dan mu ji (which you can easily find at any Asian grocery store, but if you can't find this, pickles are a good substitute). This ingredient is what gives the most flavor to the kim bap (seaweed rice), as it it traditionally called. If you don't add vinegar to the rice you can mix the already cooked rice with sesame oil and soy sauce to make it sticky. Finally, you really should roll these with a bamboo mat (they're really cheap and can be bought at most grocery stores in the international food section) to get them really tight so they won't fall apart. These are one of my favorite things to eat, but my husband hates them so we don't get many chances to make them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
96 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2006
Thank you Donna for this recipe!! It brings back fond memories of my mom, aunts, and me making these as a child. JAMIE IS INCORRECT.. THIS RECIPE IS INDEED AUNTHENTIC!!! My mother is Korean and her sisters and every household makes them all differently. She uses spinach instead of chard and seasons the rice with sesame oil and salt and sometimes vinegar, depending on her mood. The seaweed (Gheem) is sometimes placed over the burner to make them more green and crispy. They were rolled like "California Rolls". She also added a yellow colored radish called "Da Kuan" which were cut into strips. I will post a picture soon. Thank you again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LucyDelRey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Marina Del Rey, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2007
Oh my goodness! This dish is absolutely authentic and regular pickles are not a good substitute for pickled radish. I'm half Korean, and this is exactly how my mom would make it except for some of the ingredients and baking the sea weed sheets. My mom and her friends would trade off making Kim-bab because it is time consuming to make and they all made it differently. They usually make 25-50 rolls at a time and made it an all day event talking away in the kitchen sometimes. You can change up some of the ingredients or use the ingredients in this recipe as well. Mom usually uses cucumber,fish cake,spinach, carrots, eggs, pickled radish, AND SPAM. Most people never think of spam to go in this but it's great and you would never know spam is there. Some of her friends used hotdog, Bul-gogi or imitation crab as well. You don't have to use the pickled radish but it really does add to the recipe and flavor. For some though it's an acquired taste. Instead of the Chard leaves you can substitute spinach and drizzle sesame oil, salt, pepper, sesame seed, garlic powder to season it. I don't care for when she makes the rice with vinegar but instead drizzle sesame oil and sprinkle sesame seeds and fold the rice. With the remaining pickled radish you can add cucumbers splashed with vinegar, a little sugar and red pepper flakes and make a pickled radish kim-chi to eat with your Kim-bab.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~~~CateringCook~~~

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Zehlendorf, Berlin, Germany
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2007
This recipe was given me by my dear friend Sunyoung (spelling) who was an exchange student from Korea who taught me how to make it. So i can honestly say that this recipe IS AUTHENTIC!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Whangarei, Northland, New Zealand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2009
I have lived in Korea for 3 years. Right now I eat tuna kimbop almost every day for lunch, and it DOES have canned tuna in it. In all the restaurants. So to the full Korean who was born in America, you need to visit Korea before criticizing the writer of the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
This is a very good basic kimbab recipe that covers all the basics. As other posters have noted the choice of ingredients is very much up to the individual with the only constant being the 1. Nora 2. Rice and 3. bamboo mat to roll it with. There are specialty restaurants in Korean that make dozens of varieties of this simple dish that can fit almost any taste from the vegetarian to the carnivore with pickle lovers and haters all accomodated. I would definitely recommend the use of the bamboo mat to get tighter rolls that dont fall apart (my wife uses saran wrap in a pinch and gives the mat to me) but the preparation time to make this dish can get quite extreme the more ingredients you add in. Tuna with a light mayo sauce is one popular variety, as is bbq bulgogi, but the choice is really up to the individual. Good luck and enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2010
I can tell this is not 100% authentic, and if there was a way to put 4.5 instead of 4 or 5 separately, I would, because this is AWESOME. Also some advice for the rice for people doing this, you should add a little oil, it makes it quite more tasty. Also, this is GREAT with JUST BEEF or JUST FISH, together it is kind of odd to me, but that's just me...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2006
Like many dishes in Korea each family does their own thing. We like to put strips of fried egg, spam, fish cake, etc. We do put the radish in it every now and then. I particularly do not like the pickled radish, because it is such a strong flavor. I have put in carrots and beef. I use spinach instead of the chard as well. I do not bake the seaweed (Kim), and I do not use it directly from the package. I find it not crispy rather more chewy that way. I like to brush a little sesame oil on the leaves and just heat is over a burner until it's cripy, but not too crispy so you wouldn't be able to roll it. Also, the bamboo mat is a must have tool when making kim bap. This is a favorite dish for my 9 year old.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mama Mia's Cakes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Huber Heights, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2010
Kim-Bop is delicious. Try it with just tuna, som elong pickled radish (you can find this is a asian speciality store) and some carrot. This brings back find memories of Korea with late night norrey-bongs and kimbop with some soju. Mah-Ju-Soy-Oh!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Korean Fried Chicken

See how to make tender, extra-crispy, double-fried Korean chicken.

Types of Sushi

Get a quick introduction to beautiful, delicious sushi.

How To Make Sushi Rolls

Find out how to make fresh, delicious sushi rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States