Korean Squash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2010
OMG this was fabulous. Delicious, and very useful for dieters (the only fat or significant calories are in the sesame oil). I used Mirin instead of sugar, and I suspect that is more authentic. Find it in your Asian grocer's.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2005
MMMMMMMM...YUM! I have recently started to incorperate more zuccini into my diet(as it is not something that I really like). My husband and my best friend are not zuccini fans either and they LOVED it. This is definately a winner especially paired with two other recipes from this site, Korean BBQ Beef and Korean Cucumber Salad as well and some jasmine rice. WOW, WHAT A MEAL!...Rachel
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brandon and Alaina

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waldport, Oregon, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
This is absolutely delicious! It had a sweeter flavor than I expected. Word of warning that it does look rather ugly, but it does taste really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2013
I left out the broth seeing as zucchini contains so much water. This is a great introduction to miso but fell a bit short for us. Definatly worth a try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2005
This was a very good way to make squash. I would cut back on the soy sauce a litte next time. I followed the recipe exactly and used a reduced sodium soy sauce. It would have been too salty if I used regular soy sauce. Goes very well with the Korean beef recipe from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Palm Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Royal Palm Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2009
This looked a little scary when done, as the sauce got very dark (I'll admit I eyeballed the quantities, and I used tamarind instead of vinegar). I was afraid that the flavors were going to be too strong and salty. It was really nice though, and had a kind of "meaty" quality to it. The squash was not mushy and falling apart, and the sauce was almost steak sauce-y. Again, that may have been due to the tamarind.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2007
My husband and I enjoyed this recipe. I was hoping it would be the one the kids would like too, but they didn't.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alissa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cedarburg, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Sheboygan, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2009
yummy! I love Korean food, and this turned out very similar to things I've shared with Korean friends. Yes, it's salty...I might use less soy sauce next time, but I'm pretty sure Koreans usually use this as a side to eat with the main course--and their sides are usually pretty salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2005
It was different! Basically the vinegar "pickles" the squash, and the soy sauce and sesame and green onions give it a "Korean" flavor. My Korean roommates made a similar recipe (without the vinegar) using fermented shrimp (not always available at the local Piggly Wiggly)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2005
My mother and I were very disappointed in this dish. She didn't like the vinegar taste and I thought the soy sauce was overpowering (I used a reduced sodium sauce sauce). I think this would have been better if the onions and zucchini were stir fried and had a little bit of the liquid mixture added in for flavor. I did not care for how the squash boiled in the liquid for 20 minutes. I will not be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fried Stuffed Squash Blossoms

See how to make glorious fried squash blossoms.

Butternut Squash Cakes

See how to make light and crispy squash cakes.

How to Prep and Cook Winter Squash

Discover all the different ways to prep and cook winter squash.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States