Korean Spicy Marinated Pork (Dae Ji Bool Gogi) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2008
My stepson recently came back from serving in Korea, and requested this dish. I tried this recipe and he ADORED it. I am a vegetarian, and used the sauce with some tofu. It was PHENOMENAL. A very tasty dish. Preparing it without the red pepper flakes will take some of the heat out for those who are not into spicy foods. I found that without the red pepper flakes, the heat was just right for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2008
Dae Ji Bool Gogi is one of our favorites! I've never been brave enough to try cooking Korean cuisine, but I went for it with this one- such a great recipe. I couldn't find the pepper paste in any store, so I substituted with a Vietnamese chili paste and that was WAY too spicy, the heat overpowered the taste; next time I'll have to find the real stuff for this recipe. This is awesome when served with lettuce leaf and rice. *when we have had this at restaurants it is served with a paste-like condiment- do you know what that is and how to make it? Thanks for delicious authentic Korean Recipes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2008
Excellent flavor and easy to make; my favorite combination! I didn't have rice vinegar so I used red wine vinegar, which also has a lighter flavor. My wife and I love super spicy food so I doubled the red pepper flakes and black pepper. Man was it good! Thank you for a great and authentic tasting recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Venice, California, USA
Living In: Edmonds, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
To bulk it up, you can add sliced carrots, green peppers, and/or bok choy to it before you fry it. For best flavor, it is traditional to use pork butts instead of pork loin. You must also add some sesame oil to the marinade for an authentic flavor. Vinegar is not really a traditional Korean ingredient. Most people who live in a built up area can find Gochu Jang which is Korean hot bean paste. Substitute that for the vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JOCKO758

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manchester, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2011
Halved the recipe, and subbed 3T of Thai red chile sauce. Still plenty spicy! Pork slices (I used tenderloin instead of loin) cooked up in mere minutes. I cooked in batches, sliding done slices under aluminum foil to stay warm. Went well with Spicy Bok Choy in Garlic Sauce and takeout fried rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIZCANCOOK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Livonia, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2009
I bought a huge pork loin and cut it into 4 pieces. I put a different marinade from the site on each one and froze them. This one turned out the best of the 4. Very good flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Alexandria, Virginia, USA
Living In: Ashburn, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2009
I wish I'd seen this recipe the first time I purchased bulgolgi (this is how it is spelled at the AFB commissary we shop). I absolutely love it and will make it as often as I can. My SO and I love spicy foods. I didn't have hot pepper paste and substituted Sriracha Hot Chili Sauce and would bet the outcome was as good or better. Thanks for sharing this one. Can't wait to serve it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2012
This is outrageously good! I'm making it tonight for the third time this week! First time was with pork, and it was delicious. Had to try it again with beef. Incredible!! Highly recommend it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mominator

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marquette, Michigan, USA
Living In: Midland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2011
this is my favorite korean dish! It's so amazing. Now i don't have to wait to go to my mother's house to have it (she's korean) I can make it on my own. Gochujang has such an awesome flavor, i snack on cucumbers and dip it in the gochujang! YUM!!! I hope everyone tries this and enjoys it as much as my family and i do!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chellebelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
This is my new favorite food, seriously I can't wait until a week goes by so I can make it again. I use Sriachi hot chili sauce instead of the korean hot pepper paste (couldn't find the paste). I also leave out the hot pepper flakes so the kiddos can eat it. It is still spicy and delicious... YUM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allison F.

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Okinawa Shoyu Pork

What's cooking in Colorado Springs? The best kind of Asian comfort food.

How to Make Pulled Pork

Make this succulent barbequed pork dish in your oven.

How to Make Grilled Pork Chops

See how to make a sensational marinade for grilled pork chops.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States