Korean Spicy Marinated Pork (Dae Ji Bool Gogi) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 27, 2013
I love this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2013
Closest recipe I've tried yet that matches the real thing! One thing I'd do is cut the vinegar amount in 1/2 and add a tbsp or two of sesami oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2013
I only marinated for 30 min but the flavor was delicious! Tasted just like the spicy pork at my favorite Korean bbq place! I did substitute a mix of fermented soybean paste and sriracha for the hot pepper paste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2013
I was looking for something with gochujang, a great stuff I remember from my short stay in Korea. I made one change to the recipe as suggested by some reviewers: I reduced the amount of vinegar to 1 tbs. The meat waited about 20h in the fridge (but purely due to cancelation of the event it was made for). The result was GREAT. Thanks a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by itchcat
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
I didn't follow the recipe exactly. I reduced the hot pepper paste to half of a 1/4 cup and red pepper to 1 tablespoon, and I added 1/4 cup of Spicy Korean Cake sauce. I didn't have green onion, and I used ginger powder instead of fresh ginger. I also used pork chop meat instead of pork loin. I didn't have rice wine vinegar so I used rice vinegar instead. I didn't think the vinegar taste was strong but the ginger; it is possibly because I never really like the ginger taste. I suspect that many reviewers used apple cinder vinegar instead or rice vinegar since ACV has a stronger vinegar taste than rice vinegar. Hot pepper paste is really HOT, and whether the recipe calls for too many hot pepper paste is really a matter of personal taste. To sum up, the favor is good, and I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
Way too spicy. So much so my family couldn't eat it and I cut the hot pepper paste in half. If you make this cut the pepper paste way, way down.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
Although I did not have ginger on hand, this was fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2012
This is outrageously good! I'm making it tonight for the third time this week! First time was with pork, and it was delicious. Had to try it again with beef. Incredible!! Highly recommend it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mominator

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marquette, Michigan, USA
Living In: Midland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2012
Made this for dinner, substituted cayenne pepper for red pepper flakes and used ½ the amount, I was afraid of it being too spicy. Came out GREAT!!! Will make again as soon as pork tenderloin goes back on sale
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Charlotte Amalie, Saint Thomas, U. S. Virgin Islands
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2012
I cooked this last night and it was delicious. I had some fresh herbs (mint, coriander and parsley) so I added a bit of each chopped up and had some left over tinned pineapple so I chopped up two rings. Apart from that I followed the recipe but didnt put as much hot pepper paste or chillies and it was nice to eat and left a nice tingle to the mouth after eating it. I will cook this again:-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Okinawa Shoyu Pork

What's cooking in Colorado Springs? The best kind of Asian comfort food.

How to Make Pulled Pork

Make this succulent barbequed pork dish in your oven.

How to Make Grilled Pork Chops

See how to make a sensational marinade for grilled pork chops.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States