Korean Spicy Chicken and Potato (Tak Toritang) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2006
This was great! I've never tried making Korean food till now. It reminds me of the Filpino adobo but spicy version. I did add some sesame oil and marinated the chicken and vegetables overnight. I then put about a cup of water and a cup of the marinade and let it simmer for exactly an hour. The meat was falling off the bones and the vegetables were PERFECT! I used chicken legs and thighs for this. Thanks Sara!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by XXXNAUGHTY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2006
I cooked this for my boyfriend and I and we both loved it! It helped that I knew the name of the Korean spicy paste when I went to the Korean market. Thanks so much! It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2006
Oh so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2005
My wife is part korean and had the paste already on hand to make this. She told me the Korean name for this meal is "tak toritang." "Gochujang" is the Korean name for the paste. It was her first time and it came out soooo good! I'd say it was a mild spicy. It's a good hardy meal and I can't wait to have it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2005
Even though it's a pain, I think it is worth is to skin the drumsticks (also sold as wingettes in the grocery store). marinates the chicken much more with the spicy soy infusion. I used yukon gold potatoes and they soaked up a lot of the juice as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2005
I used boneless chicken thighs and I actually didn't use the hot sauce which doesn't follow the recipe. But I know some people can't do any spicy whatsoever, so I'm just saying if you follow the recipes otherwise it still takes great, very natural and healthy tasting.... hearty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2005
Super easy to make. Made a couple of days before to let the ingredients soak up the flavoring and, let it simmer for a LONG time. The meat was flaking off the bones! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2005
We have a Korean exchange student living with us. He said this taste like what his mom makes. Ya!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newberg, Oregon, USA
Photo by sarakyong
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2006
I just wanted to add some information to my mom's recipe. When the recipe says 3 tbs, that's 3 heaping tbs. You may reduce the soy sauce down to 1/3 cup, if you're sensitive to salty. You can throw the chicken in the pot still frozen, it still gets well cooked all the same. I use baby carrots instead of cutting large ones--much easier to toss in. (If you're using Red potatoes, add them at the same time as the chicken since they need more time to soak the sauce in.) I liked someone's suggestion of bell peppers, I'm using it now myself. Once everything is in the pot, reduce the heat to med-low. The sauce won't cover all the ingredients, so you'll need to stir occasionally. It's ready when you can half a carrot & potato piece and see the sauce has soaked inside (won't soak very far into Red potatoes). The liquid will thicken more as it cools.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
193 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sarakyong

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Westminster, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2006
Food was great!!!! I used chicken breast instead but turned out delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 169) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Spicy Orange Chicken

Discover a healthier version of spicy orange chicken.

Spicy Kung Wow Chicken

See how to make a simple stir-fry based on spicy kung pao chicken.

Korean Fried Chicken

See how to make tender, extra-crispy, double-fried Korean chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States