Korean Spicy Chicken and Potato (Tak Toritang) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2008
Better with age. Would have preferred chicken that wasn't on the bone. Otherwise, just wonderful. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2008
This was excellent and my first attempt at Korean food. I love the Korean spicy chicken at a local restaraunt and this was similar. I cut up boneless skinless breasts since I always have those on hand and added water chestnuts and red bell pepper a couple times. I don't know if this is the right sauce but I've been using "Ground Fresh Chili Paste" from the grocery store ethnic food section and have no complaints. I've made this four times now and it's become my favorite recipe and really quite easy. I can start the rice and chicken at the same time and pretty much just sit back, relax, enjoy a glass of wine and in 45 minutes, voila!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2008
So yummy! I've made this twice now and plan to make this a regular meal. I just cannot find the small chicken legs, and I know that would be better than the larger ones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Breezy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Arcadia, California, USA
Living In: San Clemente, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2008
I'm Korean & this dish did absolutely nothing for me. I thought the saltiness & the sweetness was total overkill. I'm only giving it one star because it didn't taste like the authentic dish, and I had to make substantial changes. Healthy cooking in mind, I made the following changes-- 1) reduced from 1/2 C. of regular soy to 1/3 C of low sodium soy; 2) bumped up the water to 1 cup; 3) I elimated the sugar altogether and sweetened with naturally sweet vegetables Beets (I know it wouldn't make it authentic, but beets are incredibly sweet & it adds a vibrant Red color to the sauce, and if you find the sweetness lacking, you can add splenda to taste), red peppers, and carrots; 4) I used Yams/ sweet potato in place of regular potato (the starch from the sweet potato has similar 'thickening' effects as regular potato); 5) since I like my food spicier than the average person, I added chopped jalepeno (membrane & seeds included). I served the dish with a mixture of basmati & wild brown rice. Packed the dish for lunch the next day, and it tasted even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2008
this was extremely delicious. i put red thai curry paste instead of the pepper paste and i added a little bit of fish sauce because I thought it lacked a tiny bit of flavor...but after that, it was extremely delicious! thank you for sharing! this is definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Celly Belly

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2008
It was fantastic!!! I doubled the hot pepper paste. I would not recommend such things to someone who does not like spicy cuisine. Good luck with your version! :) It tastes even better the next day when the flavors have had the chance to mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eastcoast_diva

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2008
A pretty good chicken dish except that it could be a LOT more spicier otherwise the sauce itself is not bad at all
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2008
Great flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2008
I used boneless chicken thigh pieces and it turned out very tender. I used a mix of chicken stock and water to cook the chicken for a bit in the beginning. The chicken was very moist and flavorful. At the end, added a handful of chopped green onions. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sunnysparkie

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ALFANN02
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2008
This was very tasty. Not sure if theres a big difference between chili paste and hot pepper paste but i used chili paste because thats what i had. I like to simmer my chicken in the broth for quit a while so i dont add my potatoes, and carrots until the last 30 mins or so of the simmering process. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALFANN02

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 168) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Orange Chicken

Discover a healthier version of spicy orange chicken.

Spicy Kung Wow Chicken

See how to make a simple stir-fry based on spicy kung pao chicken.

Korean Fried Chicken

See how to make tender, extra-crispy, double-fried Korean chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States