Korean Spicy Chicken and Potato (Tak Toritang) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2009
I absolutely loved this dish. I did add about 1 cup more water because I love sauce over my rice. This was very spicy which my boyfriend and I absolutley love. To make this even healthier I used bone in legs and removed the skin. The bone in keeps the meat moist and delicious. I also added a few extra garlic cloves. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHETUBIG001

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CLAFOUNT
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2009
I used to get a wonderful "spicy chicken" dish at a Korean restaurant in Lansing, MI. I moved, and I really missed that dish. This recipe is IT. SO GOOD. Next time I'll make in the crock pot and debone the chicken an hour or two before eating. PERFECT
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CLAFOUNT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2009
My mom is Korean, and she used to make this when I was growing up. This recipe is wonderful...thanks for sharing! Also...with this recipe, for those who don't like spicy, just follow the directions without the red pepper paste...still yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2009
WOW... My mouth is still tingling from this... but it's probably my fault since I had to sub chinese hot sauce for the hot chili paste. May have changed the flavor, but as this is my first experience with Korean recipes, I didn't miss anything. Also used boneless skinless chicken breasts because that's what I had. Very tasty, flavorful, and spicy. Husband said this is his favorite thing I have made off this site so far!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2009
Yumilicious! I've made this twice and it is a keeper! Woohoo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2008
My entire family loved this recipe. I did not change a thing about it. I cooked everything as I was suppose to!! Wonderful, thanks for posting it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MONICA397

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marrero, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Bixby, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2008
we love this — and I'm Korean :-) i usually use breasts instead of drumettes and add some freshly grated ginger, this smells amazing while it's simmering. if you don't have hot pepper paste on hand, Sriracha (the hot chili sauce) works incredibly well in this too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2008
I'm korean and this recipe is definitely authentic. It is meant to be spicy so if you dont like spicy this is not the recipe for you. I used a combination of boneless skinless breasts and legs. Definitely use a combination. Something about the bone-in makes it juicy. I used about 1 cup of water because I like a little more sauce and plus the potatoes tend to soak it a good bit of it. I used 1/3 cup of low sodium soy sauce and only 1 Tbs of sugar as someone had recommended. I also added a good 1/2 cup of green onions in the last 10 mins of cooking. My aunt used to add this. I also added extra garlic- minced! and red pepper flakes because I love spicy!! Also about the hot pepper paste: this is a key ingredient. Must use the korean hot pepper paste otherwise you are making a totally different recipe and definitely use 3 huge heapings of it. One last thing....it definitely has to be served over rice. Not serving this with rice would be like serving meat sauce without the spagetti pasta! Thanks for the recipe! My husband raved about it!! The meat just fell off the bones and was very juicy. I can see myself making this very often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2008
I liked it. Alittle too spicy but I enjoyed it. I tripled everything but the red pepper paste and it was still VERY spicy. But I liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2008
hubby and I both loved this recipe im 38 weeks pregnant and was looking for a spicy dish to help make labor progress it didnt work but it was an excellent and filling dinner...........I take it back iwent into labor about 3 hours after I wrote this review!!!!!!!!!!1
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 168) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Orange Chicken

Discover a healthier version of spicy orange chicken.

Spicy Kung Wow Chicken

See how to make a simple stir-fry based on spicy kung pao chicken.

Korean Fried Chicken

See how to make tender, extra-crispy, double-fried Korean chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States