Korean Spicy Chicken and Potato (Tak Toritang) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
Came out great - made it for company - kids ages 9 - 19. The picky & adventuresome eaters both liked it - the grown-ups did too. Mine wasn't as spicy as I expected, doubled it, maybe some proportions were off. Used up most of my gochuchang though. Used chicken thighs, cause that's what I had. I especially liked that it was a relatively quick korean dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2010
I am Korean, and I thought this recipe was great. I followed it exactly, but doubled it for 5 lbs of meat. My husband RAVED. I also gave some to my parents, and they also thought it was very good. A truly authentic, and delicious Korean recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JGillean
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2010
I just made this pretty much per the directions except I used some Sriracha hot chili sauce instead of the Korean paste and I also sprinkled Luzianne canjun seasoning on the dish a couple times to make sure it was good and spicy. Turned out great served over white rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JGillean

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Holland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
One of my favorites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2010
Good recipe - thank you for posting. I used thigh meat and added two teaspoons of fresh ginger, I also added 2 chopped pieces of celery for an extra texture and skipped the white sugar by adding just 1 tablespoon of raw sugar. I also skipped the hot pepper paste but did add crushed red pepper. Looking forward to having it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by capecodcook79

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Barnstable, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
Yummy! I used chicken breast instead of the drummettes to decrease the fat content. I used red potatoes, zuchinni and a green pepper in addition to the other veggies. My non Korean husband loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
I didn't have all of the ingredients so had to substitute garlic powder for actual garlic, and some liquid habenero sauce instead. Was spicy this way but not too bad. Both hubby and I really enjoyed it! Will skip the potatoes and serve over rice next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
First recipe that I used from this site and it was excellentl. I didn't realize how spicy it was but it's still wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by geebz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2009
The first time I made this, it was amazing! I used chicken breasts instead and as I live in Korea, I have access to all of the Korean ingredients. I made it for a Korean who loved it and asked me to make it again. I did and used chicken drumettes, but both of us found it to be nowhere near as good as with the breasts. Maybe I altered the recipe or maybe the chicken drumettes were not great quality, but I will stick to the breasts~in fact, I'm going to make it tonight and will let you know how it turns out! ***I definitely prefer the chicken breasts. I also added some red pepper powder (gochu garu), sliced red pepper (gochu) and some large green onions (pa). Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2009
Hello, i tried it and it was very delicious. I put some spices and made it a bit more hot. it was juicy and spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 175) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Orange Chicken

Discover a healthier version of spicy orange chicken.

Spicy Kung Wow Chicken

See how to make a simple stir-fry based on spicy kung pao chicken.

Korean Fried Chicken

See how to make tender, extra-crispy, double-fried Korean chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States