Korean Spicy Chicken and Potato (Tak Toritang) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2010
I'm Korean and I made this for me & my sister tonight...We absolutely LOVED it!!! I was worried that it wouldn't taste like my mom's/"authentic" Korean cooking (like many other recipes that I find online), but decided to try it after reading one of the other reviews and I'm so glad I did because this was right on! I only added a little more red pepper paste since we like things extra spicy, but wouldn't change a thing otherwise. Thank you so much for this recipe...I will definitely be making this again and again...probably for our next family gathering :).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Reno, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2010
easy to make, but next time i will not add the sugar, the carrots and onions are already sweet. also i added a tablespoon of red pepper flakes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
Boil the chicken first for five minutes. Drain and add soy sauce, garlic and 1 tbsp on ginger. Then add your veggies and potatoes. I like to add leeks to this as well. I also like it super spicy so 3 tbsps of gochujang is never enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Summerland, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Taegu, Taegu-Gwangyoksi, South Korea

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2010
I was looking for an easy & inexpensive way to feed ~40 hungry high schoolers. This dish was PERFECT. I used regular-size drumsticks & sauteéd them brown before simmering them with everything else. I also only used ~1T minced garlic (from a jar), a handful of green onions, ~1T of gochujang and 1 full cup of water (not all kids like spicy, but they all like sauce). The flavor was good & the chicken that fell off the bone, combined with all the stew-y bits at the bottom, was good enough to eat alone after we ran out of rice! (note to self: next time make more rice to eat with the leftover sauce!) I would totally make this again, for large or small groups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2010
Dish was really good! had to add a little extra sugar for my taste and i think i will go with less soy sauce next time. Easy, yummy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2010
Pretty good and very easy. I used only 2 Tbsp. pepper paste and it was plenty hot enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2010
This dish was delish! It was easy to make. If you want a more of a spicy kick, add another tablespoon of Korean hot pepper paste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2010
All I had was Chicken breast and it turned out wonderful...next time maybe I'll throw in some thighs. I used red pepper paste as I know that's what my Mother in-law uses, not gochujang.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2010
Loved it! I only used one tablespoon of hot pepper sauce because I can't handle too much spice and it was just right for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Naples, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2010
made this last night as a last minute meal and the boyfriend absolutely LOVED IT! talk about meat falling off the bone! will def. make it again and again and again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine_808

Displaying results 41-50 (of 169) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spicy Orange Chicken

Discover a healthier version of spicy orange chicken.

Spicy Kung Wow Chicken

See how to make a simple stir-fry based on spicy kung pao chicken.

Korean Fried Chicken

See how to make tender, extra-crispy, double-fried Korean chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States