Korean Spicy Chicken and Potato (Tak Toritang) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2010
I'm Korean and I made this for me & my sister tonight...We absolutely LOVED it!!! I was worried that it wouldn't taste like my mom's/"authentic" Korean cooking (like many other recipes that I find online), but decided to try it after reading one of the other reviews and I'm so glad I did because this was right on! I only added a little more red pepper paste since we like things extra spicy, but wouldn't change a thing otherwise. Thank you so much for this recipe...I will definitely be making this again and again...probably for our next family gathering :).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Reno, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2010
easy to make, but next time i will not add the sugar, the carrots and onions are already sweet. also i added a tablespoon of red pepper flakes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
Boil the chicken first for five minutes. Drain and add soy sauce, garlic and 1 tbsp on ginger. Then add your veggies and potatoes. I like to add leeks to this as well. I also like it super spicy so 3 tbsps of gochujang is never enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Summerland, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Taegu, Taegu-Gwangyoksi, South Korea

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2010
I was looking for an easy & inexpensive way to feed ~40 hungry high schoolers. This dish was PERFECT. I used regular-size drumsticks & sauteéd them brown before simmering them with everything else. I also only used ~1T minced garlic (from a jar), a handful of green onions, ~1T of gochujang and 1 full cup of water (not all kids like spicy, but they all like sauce). The flavor was good & the chicken that fell off the bone, combined with all the stew-y bits at the bottom, was good enough to eat alone after we ran out of rice! (note to self: next time make more rice to eat with the leftover sauce!) I would totally make this again, for large or small groups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2010
Dish was really good! had to add a little extra sugar for my taste and i think i will go with less soy sauce next time. Easy, yummy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2010
Pretty good and very easy. I used only 2 Tbsp. pepper paste and it was plenty hot enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2010
This dish was delish! It was easy to make. If you want a more of a spicy kick, add another tablespoon of Korean hot pepper paste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2010
All I had was Chicken breast and it turned out wonderful...next time maybe I'll throw in some thighs. I used red pepper paste as I know that's what my Mother in-law uses, not gochujang.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2010
Loved it! I only used one tablespoon of hot pepper sauce because I can't handle too much spice and it was just right for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Naples, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2010
made this last night as a last minute meal and the boyfriend absolutely LOVED IT! talk about meat falling off the bone! will def. make it again and again and again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine_808

Displaying results 41-50 (of 169) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Orange Chicken

Discover a healthier version of spicy orange chicken.

Spicy Kung Wow Chicken

See how to make a simple stir-fry based on spicy kung pao chicken.

Korean Fried Chicken

See how to make tender, extra-crispy, double-fried Korean chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States