Korean Spicy Chicken and Potato (Tak Toritang) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2011
I lived in Korea for 2 years and this dish is spot on. Delicious and tastes just like it did when we lived there. How refreshing to find excellent Korean recipes on allrecipes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2011
this was delicious! i live in korea and have had this dish many times. all my korean friends, especially my boyfriend, were surprised that i was able to make this! i didn't add the sugar...but otherwise, i followed the recipe except i added more water. one tip, don't add extra liquid because you don't think there is enough- as it simmers, the chicken produces a lot of juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bakergirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2011
I added a little more water because I like the sauce, but it tasted just like the little restaurant I ate it at in Seoul! That uhjumma would be proud!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amberness
Home Town: Madison, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
So good ! I used more kinds of veggies, broccoli, cauliflower, water chestnuts and upped the water a bit. It was SOO great over white rice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Breanna

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
Very good and very easy. I used bone-in thighs but pulled off the skin. Used russet potatoes to soak up the sauce. In my braising pan it created much more liquid than I expected, so I reduced at the end and thickened with cornstarch. I cooked it longer so the thighs were coming off the bone and tender. Oh, and tossed in an aging bell pepper. Makes terrific leftovers, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
This is delicious. I served with rice. I used chili garlic sauce (the kind in the jar with rooster on it -- not siracha) instead of the hot sauce called for because that's what I had on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
I am half Korean but dont know much about korean cooking, and since my korean mother lives far away and there are no korean restaurants around i never get to eat any korean food, but this is easy to make and my husband and I love this!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
Thanks for sharing this recipe! Fantastic, as written. (Non-Korean here, but love the cuisine). I used the gochujang, and it came out medium spicy, which was perfect for us. I was worried when the liquid didn't cover the contents of the pot, so I used about 1 1/4 cups of water (i used more chicken as well). Will probably not add as much water next time, but I was very satisfied with the result this time. Thanks again for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
Very delicious Recipe. I used big ol drum sticks and ended up having to double the liquids just so it could reach the top of the pot to cook everything in there.so i had about just under a cup of water and 3/4 cup low sodium soy sauce Other than that though everything came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robert Cox

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
This is one the easiest recipe to do. I modified the recipe by including one can of coke to make the flavor sweet and make the color dark. This was a tip from a Korean friend. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 169) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Orange Chicken

Discover a healthier version of spicy orange chicken.

Spicy Kung Wow Chicken

See how to make a simple stir-fry based on spicy kung pao chicken.

Korean Fried Chicken

See how to make tender, extra-crispy, double-fried Korean chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States