Korean Spicy Chicken and Potato (Tak Toritang) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2008
Great flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2008
I used boneless chicken thigh pieces and it turned out very tender. I used a mix of chicken stock and water to cook the chicken for a bit in the beginning. The chicken was very moist and flavorful. At the end, added a handful of chopped green onions. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sunnysparkie

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ALFANN02
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2008
This was very tasty. Not sure if theres a big difference between chili paste and hot pepper paste but i used chili paste because thats what i had. I like to simmer my chicken in the broth for quit a while so i dont add my potatoes, and carrots until the last 30 mins or so of the simmering process. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALFANN02

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2008
This really DOES taste the way my mom used to make it! When I made this, it reminded me of her and her cooking. I followed the recipe almost exactly. It helps that there are Korean stores around here, so it's easy to get Gochujang, the Korean chili pepper paste. I like garlic, so I added a couple more cloves, and because I'm paranoid about chicken not cooking all the way through, I let the pot boil for a bit longer before letting it simmer. I served it to a couple of friends, and they all enjoyed it. I don't think the dish is spicy with all 3 heaping spoonfuls of gochujang. One of my friends can't eat spicy things very well, and she didn't even notice. =) Thanks for the recipe! I'm keeping this one for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Berkeley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2008
First taste of Korean food and my husband and I loved it. I liked the sweetness that the sugar brought. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2008
My mom makes this all the time and it is SO good but like most Korean Moms, she never really had a "recipe" (i.e., measurements, precise instructions, etc.) So when i came across this, I was thirlled! It came out great (not as good as Mom's but isn't Mom's always the best?!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by miss_julie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Irvine, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2008
I used red potatoes and added diced red peppers like another user suggested. I enjoyed eating the potatoes more than the chicken, my boyfriend loved it, but said it was almost as good as his mom makes. Maybe next time! :) I will try this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anglica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Foodandcats
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2008
Yum! Really easy to make and tasty! My chicken came out a bit dry but I think it's because i didn't use drumsticks... I also added 1 Tbs mirin (cooking wine).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Foodandcats

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2007
This recipe was really good. However, I added some cabbage and some green peppers close to the end. I don't think I will be using carrots again though. It made it feel too much like a stew.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janene

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2007
MMMMM...just had this for dinner and it was fantastic! I got off work late today and needed to throw dinner together FAST. i threw this together in no time. i adjusted a few things: reduced sugar to 1 TBS, used low sodium soy sauce, added bell peppers, cracked black pepper, and a few dashes of red chili flakes because we like it spicy. my husband loved it. thanks for a great recipe!! =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 171) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spicy Orange Chicken

Discover a healthier version of spicy orange chicken.

Spicy Kung Wow Chicken

See how to make a simple stir-fry based on spicy kung pao chicken.

Korean Fried Chicken

See how to make tender, extra-crispy, double-fried Korean chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States