Korean Spicy Chicken and Potato (Tak Toritang) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2014
One of my all-time favorite meals - very comforting, very hearty. Some might think it is too spicy, so be prepared for some spice. I've had it three times already and every time it turned out great. If you would prefer to use chicken breast, like I did, make sure the chicken is cut into drumette-size pieces so it will cook through. I also substitute the korean pepper paste for sriracha since that's what I have on hand. It turns out just as amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2014
Made with all bone in skin on chicken thighs. Very tasty! And easy! Threw the thighs in frozen and still delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
Big hit with the family! They loved it and it was very easy to make. Served with pan fried tofu, rice and kimchi. I will definitely make it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fringy Mora

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
This was easy and fun to make. I added a stalk of celery and 1 red pepper. I used baby carrots, sliced up fine. I added 1 teaspoon of ginger and 2 1/2 tablespoons of sriracha. The sriracha added a bit of chilie sweetness to the dish. I am a big garlic lover so I upped the amount of garlic to 7 cloves. I took LisainCalifornia's advice and stir fried the drummets before adding them to the pot. It does make a big difference in taste. Overall this is a great recipe, easy to make and goes great with rice. My teenage boys both loved it -- they ate it all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2013
I didn't have all the ingredients so I made a variation using white onion chunks instead of green onion, chicken breast instead of drumettes, orange juice instead of soy sauce and brown sugar instead of white sugar. I also had no hot pepper paste but it was still amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2013
Easy and delicious. Just a few modifications: I added 1 tbs sesame oil, 1 tsp rice vinegar, some sliced turnips and I used 1 tsp soy sauce only. Also, I used drumsticks and thighs and marinated for 2 hours and it was delicious and the meat was falling apart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2013
I thought the sauce has good balance so I wouldn't change it. It did creaste a lot more liquid than I was expecting so I made extra but had too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
The meat, potatoes, onions and carrots all tasted the same. It all had the same flavor. I grew tired of the taste after a couple of bites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2012
This recipe was super easy to make! Even for a university student like me with very limited cooking skills. and patience. I actually made it with chicken breast (because it was on sale :p) and flavored with a tsp of chicken stock powder. Maybe it's because of the chicken stock that it came out way too salty. My only other complaint about it was that the chicken turned out to be too dry. Maybe I cooked it for too long? Not sure the reason, or even if it was because of the recipe or something I did. Either way, awesome tasting recipe, super convenient and easy to make, and I definitely love how it can last for numerous meals- saves even more time since I can just heat it up with some rice. Next time I'll definitely put in more hot pepper paste. Thanks so much for sharing this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2012
Soooooooooooooo Goooooooooooood !!!!!! Amazingly easy and very flexible. Used leftover shredded chicken & leftover quartered roasted potatoes. Also added chopped celery, a bell pepper and 2 hungarian wax peppers (for a little heat since I don't have pepper paste and my husband isn't keen on really spicy stuff). Next time I'll increase the soy/water/sugar so I have more juice. Will make again, and again, and again..... Thank you Sarakyong !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Catasauqua, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lincoln University, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 169) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Orange Chicken

Discover a healthier version of spicy orange chicken.

Spicy Kung Wow Chicken

See how to make a simple stir-fry based on spicy kung pao chicken.

Korean Fried Chicken

See how to make tender, extra-crispy, double-fried Korean chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States