Korean Spicy Chicken and Potato (Tak Toritang) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by lollypopz
Reviewed: May 22, 2015
The taste was very flat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ElGato
Reviewed: May 17, 2015
I made it with shredded chicken and put over brown rice. Had a great flavor. My first recipe from here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2015
Made this multiple times and is always a hit with friends. So simple and very easy to adapt to your taste. I used chicken thighs, added cabbage to sweeten the sauce naturally, and just added a tiny bit of sugar or agave syrup to taste. I've also made this spicy and not spicy...both coming out great. So easy to adjust to your taste buds and it still comes out delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
Absolutely terrific---used skinned chicken drumsticks (don't like cooked skin unless it's crispy) but everything else as written. Hubby loved it, I loved it, it was a hit! Served over jasmine rice with some kim chee. Will definitely make this again---thank you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cyd_Delve

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Williamson, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2014
I made this last night, with regular drumsticks instead of drumettes, and it was delicious. It was also incredibly simple to make. I might use a little less sugar in the future, though, and I'm glad the original contributor added the note about heaping the tbsps. of the gochujang, because I do like spiciness. At the risk of losing the authenticity of the recipe, I'm thinking that adding other root vegetables along with the carrots might be good, and maybe even throwing in some other vegetables toward the end, such as chunked zucchini or yellow squash. (Someone here also suggested green peppers.) In other words, this is a beautifully flavorful, easy-to-make, and versatile comfort food. Thank you, sarakyong, for sharing the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by travis
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2014
Delicious! Super simple! I followed the recipe for the most part: chix was 1/2 chicken tenders, 1/2 mini drumsticks. Added 1c water, and two scoops of coarse red chili powder. Very spicy, long simmer to make the broth thicken. Served with sticky rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2014
One of my all-time favorite meals - very comforting, very hearty. Some might think it is too spicy, so be prepared for some spice. I've had it three times already and every time it turned out great. If you would prefer to use chicken breast, like I did, make sure the chicken is cut into drumette-size pieces so it will cook through. I also substitute the korean pepper paste for sriracha since that's what I have on hand. It turns out just as amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2014
Made with all bone in skin on chicken thighs. Very tasty! And easy! Threw the thighs in frozen and still delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
Big hit with the family! They loved it and it was very easy to make. Served with pan fried tofu, rice and kimchi. I will definitely make it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fringy Mora

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
This was easy and fun to make. I added a stalk of celery and 1 red pepper. I used baby carrots, sliced up fine. I added 1 teaspoon of ginger and 2 1/2 tablespoons of sriracha. The sriracha added a bit of chilie sweetness to the dish. I am a big garlic lover so I upped the amount of garlic to 7 cloves. I took LisainCalifornia's advice and stir fried the drummets before adding them to the pot. It does make a big difference in taste. Overall this is a great recipe, easy to make and goes great with rice. My teenage boys both loved it -- they ate it all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 175) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Orange Chicken

Discover a healthier version of spicy orange chicken.

Spicy Kung Wow Chicken

See how to make a simple stir-fry based on spicy kung pao chicken.

Korean Fried Chicken

See how to make tender, extra-crispy, double-fried Korean chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States